Women's Cross Country Picked to Win C-USA

Aug. 23, 2017

IRVING, Texas – The Rice Owls women’s cross country team has been picked by the league’s coaches to win a third consecutive conference title, according to the C-USA Preseason Poll unveiled on Wednesday.

The defending, back-to-back C-USA champion Owls return three all-conference performers in Elsa Racasan (second team), Abigail Cartwright (second team) and Khayla Patel (third team) while losing C-USA First Team performers Cali Roper and Katie Jensen to graduation.

The Owls, who return 13 student-athletes in total this season, earned six of the 12 first place votes in the C-USA Preseason Poll. Rice is led by veteran head coach Jim Bevan, who returns for a 13th season and has been named the C-USA Coach of the Year four times, including each of the last two seasons.

The Rice men’s cross country team was picked to finish fifth overall, which was where the team placed at last year’s C-USA Championship. Head coach Jon Warren enters his 16th season at the helm and will oversee a Rice team that returns nine letterwinners, including senior all-conference performer Marco Ruiz.

Middle Tennessee was chosen as the preseason favorites on the men’s side, followed by UTEP, Charlotte and North Texas.

Both the Rice women’s and men’s teams will open the 2017 season on Sept. 8 when they host the Norry Hersey Rice Invitational, which begins at 6:15 p.m.

C-USA Women’s Cross Country Preseason Poll
(First-Place Votes)
1. Rice (6)
2. Middle Tennessee (3)
3. UTEP (2)
4. Southern Miss (1)
5. Charlotte
6. North Texas
7. UAB
8. Marshall
10. Florida Atlantic
11. WKU
12. Louisiana Tech
13. FIU

C-USA Men’s Cross Country Preseason Poll
(First-Place Votes)
1. Middle Tennessee (6)
2. UTEP (4)
3. Charlotte
4. North Texas
5. Rice
6. Marshall
8. Louisiana Tech
9. WKU
10. Florida Atlantic
11. FIU






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago