Wade Fifth, Pye Sixth as Owls Place Third at C-USA Championship

Becky Wade.

Oct. 31, 2011

Complete Results

Final Results Get Acrobat Reader

Houston - The Rice women's cross country team placed third at the Conference USA Cross Country Championship held Monday morning at Wildcat Golf Club.

The Owls tallied 83 points just ahead of fourth place East Carolina's 86 points. The SMU Mustangs won the team title with 57 points, edging out second-place Tulsa (59 points). UTEP was fifth (162 points) and UAB was sixth (167 points).

SMU's Silje Fjortoft won the women's 5K race with a time of 16:06.8. UTEP's Risper Kimaiyo was second at 16:14.7, while Paula Whiting of Tulsa was third (16:43.6). Placing fourth was East Carolina's Brittany Copeland (16:56.7).

Senior Becky Wade led the Rice contingent with a fifth place time of 16:57.1. Just behind Wade was fellow senior Allison Pye in sixth (17:19.9). Wade and Pye earn All-C-USA First Team honors.

"Becky (Wade) is close to being 100 percent back and Allison (Pye) is all the way back and the two of them are a force and will be missed next year as a one-two punch," said Owl head coach Jim Bevan. "They are the best one-two runners we've ever had in the history of the program."

Halsey Fowler was the third Owl to cross the finish line at 17:56.6 to place 17th and earn All-C-USA Second Team accolades, while Lindsay Miller (18:20.4) and Heather Olson (18:20.5) placed 27th and 28th respectively to round Rice's top five runners.

"We got beat by two really good teams in SMU and Tulsa," stated Bevan. "It was the best that SMU has run all year. They someone who had not run earlier and they're a great team and they know what it's like to win and they want to win. Tulsa was the defending champions and they had a good day. We had a good race, but not a great race and, we were beaten by two great teams. We've got another race in 12 days at the regional and just like SMU surprised some everybody today we hope to do the same."

Rice now readies for the NCAA South Central Regional on Nov. 12 in Waco, Texas.

Rice Women's Results
5, Becky Wade, 16:57.1, All-C-USA First Team
6, Allison Pye, 17:19.9, All-C-USA First Team
17, Halsey Fowler, 17:56.6, All-C-USA Third Team
27, Lindsay Miller, 18:20.4
35, Farrah Madanay, 18:33.8
40, Allie Schaich, 18:35.8
66, Laura Michel, 19:36.8

Women's Final Team Results
1, SMU, 57
2, Tulsa, 59
3, Rice, 83
4, East Carolina, 86 5, UTEP, 162
6, UAB, 167
7, Memphis, 208
8, Houston, 219
9, Tulane, 236
10, UCF, 258
11, Southern Miss, 271
12, Marshall, 281

Individual Medalist: Silje Fjortoft, SMU
Outstanding Senior: Silje Fjortoft, SMU
Freshman of the Year: Lauren Collette, Tulsa
Coach of the Year: Cathy Casey, SMU





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago