Conference USA Academic Medal Winners Announced

April 13, 2011

IRVING - Rice University had 40 student-athletes earn the Conference USA Commissioner's Medal during the 2010-11 academic year, Commissioner Britton Banowsky announced Wednesday.

The medals are given to those Conference USA student-athletes who have achieved a 3.75 grade point average or better. A total of 485 student-athletes from league institutions were recognized on Wednesday.

On Tuesday, Banowsky announced the 2010-11 Conference USA Commissioner's Honor Roll, which lists student-athletes who maintain a 3.0 GPA, and Rice had a league-best 220 student-athletes recognized.

Below is a list of Rice student-athletes by sport who received the C-USA Commissioner's Medal this year:

Men's Cross Country
Matt Carey

Women's Cross Country
Meredith Gamble
Frances Hsu
Farrah Madanay
Johanna Ohm
Sophie Peeters
Allison Pye
Becky Wade

David Dalton
Stephen Noh

Erik Mayer

Catherine Fitzsimmons
Gaby Garton
Lauren LaGro
Elizabeth Nesbit
Andie Obermeyer

Shelby Bottoms
Karen Gerken
Louise Gliga
Carter Graves
Danielle Spence

Men's Tennis
Michael Nuesslein
Philipp Seifert
Isamu Tachibana
Andy Wang

Women's Tennis
Ana Guzman
Rebekka Hanle

Men's Track & Field
Philip Adam
Jeff Arenson
Dylan Bradley
Jordan Hmaidan
William Meyers
Dan Sloat
Tyler Wiest

Women's Track & Field
Tiffany Gill
Sarah Lyons

Tyler Jenkins
Tracey Lam
Laurie McNamara
Jordan Meredith





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago