Cavanaugh To Be Inducted in SWC Hall of Fame

Regina Cavanaugh dominated the women's shot put in the mid 1980's

March 7, 2014

Dr. Regina Cavanaugh, who dominated the shot put in the mid 1980's and earned nine All American honors in her career at Rice, is one of nine standouts who make up the 2014 Southwest Conference Hall of Fame induction class. The class was announced on Friday by the Texas Sports Hall of Fame, which sponsors the SWC Hall of Fame.

She will be inducted along with Marci Bozarth (TCU), Chris Gilbert (Texas), Jacob Green (Texas A&M), Chuck Hixson (SMU), David Klingler (Houston), Coach John McDonnell (Arkansas), Coach Dutch Schroeder (Baylor), and Carolyn Thompson (Texas Tech).

Cavanaugh is regarded by many as Rice's greatest female athlete. She was a nine-time All-American, earning three consecutive NCAA indoor shot put titles from 1984-86 and three straight NCAA outdoor crowns from 1985-87. In 1987, she received the Honda Broderick Award as the nation's top female student-athlete in track and field. She was also a four-time SWC outdoor discus champion. In 1992, she was named to the Southwest Conference Women's 10th Anniversary All-Decade Team.

She was also a standout in the classroom earning Academic All American honors from CoSIDA and won the Joyce Pounds Hardy Award in 1986 as Rice's most outstanding woman student-athlete. She was the first-ever recipient of the Walter Byers NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship and received her M.D. from the University of Texas Medical School. She was inducted into the Rice Athletic Hall of Fame in 1992 and into the CoSIDA Academic All American Hall of Fame in 2001.

The Southwest Conference (SWC) Hall of Fame induction ceremony and luncheon will be held on Monday, April 7th, at 11:30 AM in Houston at the Royal Sonesta Hotel. For more information on event tickets and sponsorship information, please visit





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago