Rice Athletics Honors Scholar-Athletes

Feb. 21, 2016
By: Tim Andrzejewski (tim.andrzejewski@rice.edu)

Photo Gallery

HOUSTON, Texas — Rice Athletics and the R Association honored 17 student-athletes who were named the top academic performers in their respective sports at the 30th annual Rice Scholar-Athlete reception Sunday evening in the R Room.

The Rice Scholar-Athlete Award is presented to a junior, senior, or fifth-year senior who has accumulated the highest cumulative grade point average on their respective team.

Each of the honored scholar-athletes were able to share their moment of recognition with members of the Rice faculty who inspired them to attain their academic results by inviting them to join the honorees at the reception.

In addition to the 17 honorees, 71 other junior and senior student-athletes who have compiled at least a 3.3 cumulative grade point average were recognized for having earned the R Association's Honor Athlete Award.

R Association Scholar-Athlete Award Winners
Baseball: Blake Fox, Sport Management (Will Rice College)
Austin Solecitto, Economics (Sid Richardson College)
Men’s Basketball: Marcus Jackson, Sport Management (Baker College)
Women’s Basketball: Alyssa Lang, Kinesiology (Duncan College)
Men’s Cross Country: Harry Sagel, Mechanical Engineering (McMurtry College)
Women’s Cross Country: Audrey Wassef, Biochemistry & Cell Biology (McMurtry College)
Football: Darik Dillard, Mechanical Engineering & Managerial Studies (Jones College)
D.J. Green, Sport Management (Jones College)
Men’s Golf: James Lee, Psychology & Kinesiology (Sid Richardson College)
Men’s Tennis: Tommy Bennett, Economics (Lovett College)
Women’s Tennis: Katherine Ip, Kinesiology (Duncan College)
Men’s Track & Field: Evan Karakolis, Mechanical Engineering (Baker College)
Women’s Track & Field: Belle MacFarlane, Psychology & Kinesiology (Lovett College)
Christina Wassef, Biochemistry & Cell Biology (McMurtry College)
Women’s Soccer: Suzie Meling, Sociology & Economics (Will Rice College)
Women’s Swimming: Savanna Golson, Kinesiology (Martel College)
Volleyball: Leah Mikesky, Kinesiology (Sid Richardson College)

R Association Honor Athletes
Andrew Dunlap (Baseball), Jon Duplanitier (Baseball), Nicholas Orewiler (Baseball), John Clay Reeves, Dayne Wunderlich (Baseball), Justin Carter (Football), James Farrimond (Football), Peter Godber (Football), Parker Hanusa (Football), Trey Martin (Football), Paine Matiscik (Football), Ryan Pollard (Football), Anthony Price (Football), Andrew Reue (Football), Parker Smith (Football), Cole Thomas (Football), Cole Thomas (Football), Robert Wells (Football), Caleb Williams (Football), Trey Johnson (Men’s Golf), Adam Gustafsson (Men’s Tennis), David Warren (Men’s Tennis), Zach Yablon (Men’s Tennis), Adam Davidson (Men’s Track), Filip Drozdowski (Men’s Track), Scott Filip (Men’s Track), Hodson Harding (Men’s Track), Griffin Lee (Men’s Track), Erik Maher (Men’s Track), Berk Norman (Men’s Track), Marco Ruiz (Men’s Track), Colton Torrance (Men’s Track), Adaeze Obinnah (Women’s Basketball), Kara Dugall (Women’s Soccer), Genevieve Grundy (Women’s Soccer), Holly Hargreaves (Women’s Soccer), Lauren Hughes (Women’s Soccer), Zoe Pochobradsy (Women’s Soccer), Mia Schmolze (Women’s Soccer), Ruthie Selznick (Women’s Soccer), Danielle Spriggs (Women’s Soccer), Anniina Ala-Sepaelae (Women’s Swimming), Alicia Caldwell (Women’s Swimming), Shannon Foreman (Women’s Swimming), Cora McKenzie (Women’s Swimming), Michelle Patton (Women’s Swimming), Marita Sailor (Women’s Swimming), Alison Ho (Women’s Tennis), Solomiya Zinko (Women’s Tennis), Marielle Brisbois (Women’s Track and Field), Ellen Diemert (Women’s Track and Field), Daisy Ding (Women’s Track and Field), Abby Halm (Women’s Track and Field), Katherine Jensen (Women’s Track and Field), Brooke Johnson (Women’s Track and Field), McKenzie Johnson (Women’s Track and Field), Hannah Kay (Women’s Track and Field), Chikaoidi Obiozor (Women’s Track and Field), Cali Roper (Women’s Track and Field), Julie Sunderland (Women’s Track and Field), Kristin Sweeney (Women’s Track and Field), Eleanor Wardleworth (Women’s Track and Field), Andi Bawcum (Volleyball), Chelsey Harris (Volleyball), Madeline Holman (Volleyball), Stephanie Mendivil (Volleyball), Meaghan Patterson (Volleyball), Kyley Reed (Volleyball), Miranda Rogers (Volleyball), Kimberly Vaio (Volleyball), Noelle Whitlock (Volleyball)





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago