Four Owls Honored by C-USA

Liat Zimmermann was named the C-USA Newcomer of the Year

April 29, 2013

Natalie Beazant, Dominique Harmath, Liat Zimmermann and Katie Gater were named to the 2013 All-Conference USA singles team in voting by conference coaches. Harmath was also honored as the Outstanding Singles Performer at the 2013 C-USA Championship while Zimmermann was named the C-USA Newcomer of the Year.

Beazant and Harmath are both repeat selections on the All C-USA Singles first team, while Gater and Zimmermann were named to the third team. Beazant and Harmath were also named to the All C-USA Doubles second team.

Harmath earned the singles honor after providing a pair of key points in the Owls' drive to the team title. She clinched the Owls' semifinal win over SMU with a three-set win over Edyta Cieplucha and the provided Rice's third point in title match with a 6-2, 6-4 win over Isaura Enrique of Tulsa, avenging a 6-3, 6-1 loss in the regular season in the process.

Harmath is the third Rice women's tennis player to win the singles award in the eight years it has been awarded. Alanna Rodgers won it in 2006 and Beazant captured it last year. Rice and Tulsa are the only schools to have produced three winners of the award.

Zimmermann finished the regular season with a 14-4 mark in singles and a 12-5 mark in doubles in her first season at Rice after transferring from Miami. She provided the clinch point in the Owls historic first-ever win over Texas, defeating Noel Scott, 6-3, 0-6, 6-4.

Zimmermann is the first Rice women's tennis player to win the Newcomer of the Year award outright. Rebekka Hänle shared the honor in 2009.

The Owls will be back in action on the weekend of May 10-12 in the first round 2013 NCAA Women's Tennis Championships. They will learn their seeding and first round opponent on Tuesday when the NCAA announces the bracket during a webcast on beginning at 4 p.m.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago