Owls Open Swim Season At Open Water Championships

Sept. 15, 2017

Four Owls on the Rice swim team are scheduled to open the new 2017-2018 season at second annual CSCAA Collegiate National Open Water Championships in Lawrence, Kansas, on Saturday (Sept. 16).

Rice senior Alicia Caldwell, junior Hanna Huston, sophomore Sarah Nowaski and true freshman Lindsay Mathys are four of the 54 women competing in the national open water championship for collegiate swimmers. The 5,000-meter (3.1 miles) event is sponsored by College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) and hosted by the University of Kansas at Lone Star Lake near Lawrence, Kan. One individual from the respective women’s and men’s events will be crowned a CSCAA national champion. Teams will compete for a second-ever open water team title, where a year ago Rice swimming was the national runner-up to Kansas.

Rice head swim coach Seth Huston previews the meet in the above video.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago