Amy Beger Earns All-Region Honors In Soccer

Dec. 6, 2010

View the 2010 NSCAA All-Central Region Soccer Team here

HOUSTON - Already honored as a first team All-Conference USA selection for an outstanding comeback season, Rice sophomore defender Amy Beger was named to the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) 2010 All-Central Region team, the organization announced Monday (Dec. 6).

This season Beger was the anchor of a young Rice backline where all four defenders (including two who were true freshmen) had never played together before. She started all 20 games for the Owls and rarely came off the field, playing a team-high 1,881 out of a possible 1887 minutes (99.7 percent). A redshirt sophomore from St. Charles, Mo., Beger was often assigned to shadow the opponent's top scoring threat. She helped the Owls' young defense hold C-USA foes to 13.1 shots per game and her tenacity frustrated opponents.

Beger also showed some versatility for the Blue & Gray by coming forward and adding an attacking presence with 31 shots. Perhaps her biggest contribution to the program, however, was the example she set for her teammates. After sitting out all of 2009 with a knee injury, Beger worked hard to come back and post an all-conference and all-region caliber of year. Coaches voted her to the NSCAA's Central Region second team.

"I am extremely proud of Amy and all her accomplishments this season," said Rice Head Coach Nicky Adams. "It was devastating for the team when she injured her ACL that summer (2009), but she worked so incredibly hard in the offseason. For her to come back and not only play, but to play so well, was an inspirational example for her teammates. Beegs had a great year and is very deserving of being named to the All-Region Team."

Beger is the first Owl soccer player to earn all-region honors in since Beth Martin in 2007 (second team). The last Rice player to earn all-region honors from the NSCAA was Erin Droeger in 2005 (third team). A full listing of the NSCAA 2010 All-Central Region award winners can be viewed at the above link.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago