Soccer All-Region Honorees Announced

Nov. 29, 2017

Full All-South Region honorees

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Rice's Samantha Chaiken, Maya Hoyer, Nia Stallings, Louise Stephens and Annie Walker were all named to the United Soccer Coaches 2017 All-South Region teams, it was announced this week.

The organization’s South Region (consisting of head coaches from Conference USA, Big 12, Ohio Valley, Southland, Sun Belt and SWAC schools) voted Chaiken, Stallings, Stephens and Walker to first team honors. No other soccer program in the South Region had as many as Rice’s four First team selections. Hoyer was named second team. There are three all-South Region teams in 2017.

The group helped Rice Soccer go 12-4-2 overall, win the C-USA regular season title and earn an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament. All the Owl honorees trained under the direction of head coach Nicky Adams, the 2017 C-USA Coach of the Year. In seven full seasons at the helm of the Rice program Adams has developed at least one Owl player to All-Region accolades every year.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago