Halloween Haul!

Oct. 31, 2017

BOCA RATON, Fla. -- On the eve of competing at the annual Conference USA Soccer Championship as the event's No. 1 seed, Rice earned a host of postseason honors -- including three of the league's major awards with Samantha Chaiken selected as the C-USA Midfielder of the Year, Maya Hoyer as the Goalkeeper of the Year, and Nicky Adams as the Coach of the Year, the conference office announced on Tuesday (Oct. 31).

The Owls amassed a lengthy 2017 honors list that was determined by a vote of the 14 C-USA head coaches. Senior Nia Stallings and junior Annie Walker joined Chaiken on the C-USA First Team. Hoyer was named to the C-USA Second Team. Sophomore Louise Stephens and freshman Rebecca Keane were named to the C-USA Third Team, with Keane was also named to the league's 14-player All-Freshman squad.

Rice's six all-conference honorees all trained under the direction of coach Adams, who her peers tabbed as Coach of the Year for the second time. She was also the C-USA Coach of the Year in 2014. Now in her seventh full season at the helm of the program, Adams guided the Owls to a 12-2-2 overall record and to the 2017 C-USA regular season title on the strength of an unbeaten 9-0-1 conference ledger. A former professional player and All-America honoree while playing at Texas A&M, Adams owns a career coaching record of 80-44-22. The El Paso, Texas, native was inducted into her alma mater's Athletics Hall of Fame in the fall of 2015.



"I want to congratulate all the student-athletes on receiving awards because this conference has so many talented players," Adams said. "I am proud of our Rice honorees, and I want to thank them and the entire team for the hard work they have put in all season. I am also thankful for the diligent work of assistant coaches Courtney Sirmans and Brenton Saylor, and our athletics trainer Shannon Harms."

Adams has now coached at least six players to all-conference honors in consecutive seasons. Chaiken is a strong central midfielder who was every bit the same preseason expectation of being the league's Midfielder of the Year. The senior team captain from Dallas started all 16 matches this season and tied for the team lead in scoring with eight goals. Hoyer posted a sensational season in goal as the only Owl to play every minute of every game. A native of Los Gatos, Calif., Hoyer posted 60 saves with an 0.91 goals-against average on the way to eight complete game shutouts.

The Rice soccer team is next in action against league foe Charlotte on Wednesday in the opening game of the C-USA Championship. Start time against the 49ers is set for 10 am (Central Time) at FAU Soccer Complex in Boca Raton, Fla.

The league's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament is on the line at the week-long, eight-team, single-elimination event. The tournament's championship final is scheduled for Nov. 5 at 10 am (Central Time), and slated for a live broadcast by ESPN3. A full listing of the 2017 C-USA Soccer All-Conference honorees is as follows:

Offensive Player of the Year
Martha Thomas, F, Charlotte

Midfielder of the Year
Samantha Chaiken, MF, Rice

Defensive Player of the Year
Jackie Stroud, D, ODU

Goalkeeper of the Year
Maya Hoyer, Rice

Freshman of the Year
Peyton DePriest, F, Middle Tennessee

Coach of the Year
Nicky Adams, Rice

First Team
GK: Kelsey Daugherty, UAB
D: Jackie Stroud, ODU
D: Dominique James, North Texas
D: Ebba Blomqvist, Florida Atlantic
D: Ola Akinniyi, Southern Miss
MF: Samantha Chaiken, Rice
MF: Amy Brewer, UAB
MF: Nomvula Kgoale, LA Tech
F: Martha Thomas, Charlotte
F: Nia Stallings, Rice
F: Megan Greene, Charlotte
F: Annie Walker, Rice

Second Team
GK: Maya Hoyer, Rice
D: Haley Laque, LA Tech
D: Sydney Navarro, Middle Tennessee
D: Ashely Seltzer, Marshall
MF: Asta Arnadottir, Florida Atlantic
MF: Rachel Green, UAB
MF: Becky McMullan, Southern Miss
MF: Hannah Chua, WKU
F: Peyton DePriest, Middle Tennessee
F: Aaliyah Nolan, North Texas
F: Victoria Bohdan, UTEP
F: Jordan Sackaris, Marshall

Third Team
GK: Allison Leone, WKU
D: Lauren Crenshaw, UTEP
D: Louise Stephens, Rice
D: Audria Wood, UAB
D: Brittnye Lawson, North Texas
MF: Nicole Roseland, WKUU
MF: Rebecca Keane, Rice
MF: Kelley Suggs, Charlotte
MF: Cameron Cox, Middle Tennessee
F: Elisha Holmes, Florida Atlantic
F: Iris Ashterhof, ODU
F: Natalie Johnson, ODU

Freshman Team
Rebecca Keane, Rice
Miah Zuazua, Southern Miss
Peyton DePriest, Middle Tennessee
Victoria Bohdan, UTEP
Audria Wood, UAB
Carla Morich, ODU
Meredith Hamby, Charlotte
Gabi Clark, LA Tech
Abby Stapleton, Charlotte
Tally Bishop, WKU
Ashlyn Kitterman, Florida Atlantic
Regan Kommor, UAB
Rene Ross, Marshall
Sierra Moss, FIU



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago