RICEOWLS.COM HOME
RICEOWLS.COM OWLS ON TWITTER
Soccer Announces 2013 Schedule

   

RICEOWLS.COM
<b>Check out the Owls' 2013 Soccer Schedule</b>

RICEOWLS.COM
Check out the Owls' 2013 Soccer Schedule
RICEOWLS.COM

April 25, 2013

Printable 2013 Soccer Schedule pdf Get Acrobat Reader
2013 Soccer Schedule html

HOUSTON - A total of 20 matches, including ten at home and three against opponents that made the NCAA Tournament a year ago, highlight the new 2013 schedule for Conference USA's defending champion Rice Owls soccer team, head coach Nicky Adams announced on Thursday (April 25).

The Owls' 2013 soccer season gets underway with a preseason match at home against the University of Houston on August 16 (Friday). Rice plays a second preseason contest at TCU the following Sunday before officially starting the season a week later on August 23 with a home match against Stephen F. Austin. The SFA Lumberjacks are one of the three scheduled opponents that advanced to the NCAA Tournament in 2012.

The schedule is split equally with ten home and ten road matches. The Owls host high-profile non-conference clashes against LSU from the SEC and Oklahoma State from the Big 12, as well as longtime regional rival Lamar.

A remodeled slate of C-USA opponents to visit Rice this fall includes NCAA Tournament participants Colorado College and North Texas. North Texas advanced to the NCAAs as a 2012 member of the Sun Belt Conference and is one of eight new soccer programs joining C-USA this fall. The Owls' remaining C-USA league games at home are against Tulsa, Old Dominion and East Carolina. Seven of the ten home matches are scheduled for Friday nights, while three are on Sunday afternoons.

Rice's 2013 road games are sure to prove challenging to a young Owl squad that finished first in the C-USA regular season standings despite having only five seniors on the roster. After opening the year at home against an NCAA Tournament team, the Owls have each of their next four games in hostile territory. The two-week gauntlet includes road trips to a 12-win Western Kentucky team and SEC foe Vanderbilt, followed by matches at New Mexico and state rival Texas State.

Coach Adams explained the demanding schedule is by design. Facing talented opposition not only builds-up Rice's Rating Power Index (R.P.I.), it serves to get the team ready for Conference USA's slate of games during the second half of the season.

"We are very excited for the 2013 season and the challenging schedule that we have in front of us," coach Adams said. "With a total of ten home games our fans will be able to see us compete against some of the best teams in the country. We start off with a very tough non-conference schedule that I believe that will prepare us for a successful C-USA season.

"With so many new schools entering the conference we are excited to build new rivalries," she added. "The 2012 season was such a special year for Rice Soccer. We are looking forward to defending our C-USA Championship and compete in the NCAA Tournament. "

Season tickets for Rice soccer will be available beginning in July. For ticket information to all Rice events, contact the ticket office at 713-522-OWLS (6957). The full 2013 Rice soccer schedule is as follows:

2013 Rice Owls Soccer Schedule
Aug. 16 , Fri., Houston (Preseason) 7 pm
Aug. 18, Sun., at TCU (Preseason) 3 pm
Aug. 23, Fri., Stephen F. Austin 7 pm
Aug. 30, Fri., at Western Kentucky 6 pm
Sept. 1, Sun., at Vanderbilt 6 pm
Sept. 6, Fri., at New Mexico 6 pm
Sept. 8, Sun., at Texas State 1 pm
Sept. 13, Fri., Lamar 7 pm
Sept. 15, Sun., LSU 7 pm
Sept. 20, Fri., Oklahoma State 7 pm
Sept. 27, Fri., at UTEP (C-USA) 7 pm
Sept. 29, Sun., at UTSA (C-USA) 1 pm
Oct. 4, Fri., North Texas (C-USA) 7 pm
Oct. 6, Sun., Tulsa (C-USA) 1 PM
Oct. 12, Sat., at Southern Mississippi (C-USA) 1 pm
Oct. 18, Fri. Colorado College (C-USA) 7 pm
Oct. 20, Sun., at FIU (C-USA) 1 pm
Oct. 25, Fri., Old Dominion (C-USA) 7 pm
Oct. 27, Sun., East Carolina (C-USA) 1 pm
Oct. 31, Thur., at Louisiana Tech (C-USA) 7 pm

Nov. 6, Wed., at C-USA Championship (Semifinals) tba
Nov. 8, Fri., at C-USA Championship (Quarterfinals) tba
Nov. 10, Sun., at C-USA Championship (Final) tba

Nov. 15, 16 or 17, at NCAA Tournament (1st round) tba
Nov. 22 & 24, at NCAA Tournament (2nd & 3rd rounds) tba
Nov. 29 & Dec. 1, at NCAA Tournament (Semifinals) tba
Dec. 6 & 8, at ,NCAA College Cup (Cary, N.C.) tba

 

 

GAMEDAY CENTRAL
RICE.EDU CONFERENCEUSA.COM NCAA.COM RICE UNIVERSITY - 100 YEARS