Trio Earn NCAA Postgraduate Scholarships

March 3, 2010

Indianapolis -- Three Rice Owl student-athletes have earned an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship. Earning the scholarships were Katelyn Ostendorf and Erin Scott from the sport of soccer and Jessica Boulavsky from volleyball as announced the by National Collegiate Athletic Association. The scholarships are awarded to student-athletes who excel academically and athletically and who are in their final year of intercollegiate athletics competition.

Boulavsky, from Houston, Texas, and Clear Brook H.S., concluded her volleyball career with a.273 career hitting percentage, which ranks seventh at Rice. For 2009 she was selected to the ESPN The Magazine CoSIDA Academic All-America First Team, the CoSIDA Academic All-District VI First Team, and the 2009 Mizuno Invitational All-Tournament Team. She is a psychology major with a 4.052 grade point average and plans to attend medical school.

Erin Scott and Katelyn Ostendorf were also named 2009 ESPN The Magazine CoSIDA Academic All-Americans (women's soccer). Scott was named to the Academic All-America Second Team after maintaining a 4.00 gpa as a psychology and pre-med double-major in Rice's accelerated curriculum. Scott earned the prestigious award for a second-consecutive year. In 2008, she became the first Rice soccer player in the program's history to earn Academic All-America honors (as a third-team selection). On the soccer field in 2009 the forward from Richardson, Texas, led the Owls in assists (4) and shared the team lead in goals (4).

Ostendorf was a Third Team Academic All-America selection after maintaining 4.00 GPA in biochemistry, cell-biology and pre-med. The Zionsville, Ind., native started 18 times in 2009 as a defender and rarely came out of a game. She played 90 or more minutes 15 different times on the Owls' backline.

The one-time grants of $7,500 each are awarded for fall sports, winter sports and spring sports. Each sports season (fall, winter and spring), there are 29 scholarships available for men and 29 scholarships available for women. The scholarships are one-time, non-renewable grants.



The NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship was created in 1964 to promote and encourage postgraduate education by rewarding the Association's most accomplished student-athletes through their participation in NCAA championship and/or emerging sports. Athletics and academic achievements, as well as campus involvement, community service, volunteer activities and demonstrated leadership, are evaluated.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago