Langley Announces 2016-17 Non-Conference Schedule

July 20, 2016

By: Kenny Bybee (kab10@rice.edu)

Full 2016-17 Schedule | C-USA Schedule Release


HOUSTON – Rice University head women’s basketball coach Tina Langley has announced the upcoming 2016-17 non-conference basketball schedule, which features five home games and six road contests.

The Owls open the season at home against Prairie View A&M on Nov. 11, marking the sixth time the two schools will meet in a season opener. Rice will then make their road debut in Baton Rouge for a contest at LSU on Nov. 16, the fifth meeting overall between the two teams and first since 2003.

Rice travels across town to Houston Baptist on Nov. 19 before returning home on Nov. 22 to face WBI participant Grand Canyon for the first time in school history.

The Owls will spend Thanksgiving weekend in Stillwater, Okla. to play the Oklahoma State Cowgirls on Nov. 26. Last season OSU went 21-10 and advanced to the first round of the NCAA Tournament. This will mark the seventh meeting between Rice and OSU.

Rice returns to Tudor Fieldhouse for three home dates vs. Sam Houston State (Nov. 29), Texas A&M-Corpus Christi (Dec. 15) and NAIA’s Huston-Tillotson (Dec. 21). The Owls three remaining road contests include Incarnate Word (Dec. 3), Texas Southern (Dec. 11) and Louisiana-Monroe (Dec. 18).

Coach Langley will be doing a Facebook Live (@RiceAthletics) video breakdown of the Owls' 2016-17 schedule on Thursday, July 21 at 10 a.m. when she will give her thoughts on the upcoming season. The event will also be streamed via Periscope (@RiceAthletics).

2016-17 RICE WOMEN’S BASKETBALL NON-CONFERENCE SCHEDULE
Friday, Nov. 11, vs. Prairie View A&M
Wednesday, Nov. 16, at LSU
Saturday, Nov. 19, at Houston Baptist
Tuesday, Nov. 22, vs. Grand Canyon
Saturday, Nov. 26, at Oklahoma State
Tuesday, Nov. 29, vs. Sam Houston State
Saturday, Dec. 3, at Incarnate Word
Sunday, Dec. 11, at Texas Southern
Thursday, Dec. 15, vs. Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
Sunday, Dec. 18, at Louisiana-Monroe
Wednesday, Dec. 21, vs. Huston-Tillotson


 

 


-RiceOwls.com-

Facebook

Twitter

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago

Instagram