Women's Hoops Releases C-USA Schedule

July 13, 2016

By: Kenny Bybee (kab10@rice.edu)

2016-17 C-USA Schedule

HOUSTON –
Rice women’s basketball has released the Conference USA portion of its 2016-17 schedule, as announced by second-year head coach Tina Langley and the C-USA office.

The 18-game schedule features home-and-home matchups with Old Dominion, Charlotte (2016 WNIT participant), North Texas, Louisiana Tech and Southern Miss. The Owls will square off against five C-USA teams that participated in the postseason last year.

Rice opens conference action with two games at Tudor Fieldhouse, starting with Old Dominion on Dec. 30 before Charlotte pays a visit on New Year’s Day.

The Owls will then play three consecutive away games, beginning with the reigning C-USA champion Middle Tennessee Blue Raiders on Jan. 5. The road swing continues to Birmingham, AL for a date with the UAB Blazers on Jan. 7. Following a bye on Jan. 12 (one of two C-USA byes), Rice renews their rivalry with North Texas on Jan. 14 in Denton. Last season the Owls went 2-0 against the Mean Green, winning at Tudor Fieldhouse in triple overtime and at The Super Pit in double overtime.

Rice returns home on Jan. 19 to face Louisiana Tech, whom the Owls defeated in the second round of the C-USA Championship in 2016. The Owls will close the two-game homestand on Jan. 21 versus Southern Miss.


 

 

Coach Langley’s squad will travel to the East Coast on Jan. 26 and 28 when they face off against Old Dominion and Charlotte, respectively, for a second time. Rice then plays three consecutive games at home, the longest such stretch of the conference season, starting Feb. 4 against the Mean Green. Also taking place in the year’s shortest month is home dates against FIU (Feb. 9) and Florida Atlantic (Feb. 11) for the team’s sole meeting with each of those teams.

The Owls embark on their longest road trip of the C-USA season, which lasts Feb. 16-25. During that stretch Rice will play on the road at UTSA (Feb. 16), UTEP (WNIT participant, Feb. 18), Southern Miss (Feb. 23) and Louisiana Tech (Feb. 25).

The regular season concludes with two home contests against 2016 WNIT participants, starting with Marshall (March 2) followed by WKU (March 4).

Postseason action will return to Birmingham once again in 2017 as UAB will play host to the C-USA Tournament from March 8-11. A full non-conference schedule is expected to be released in the coming weeks.

2016-17 RICE WOMEN’S BASKETBALL C-USA SCHEDULE
Friday, Dec. 30, vs. Old Dominion
Sunday, Jan. 1, vs. Charlotte
Thursday, Jan. 5, at Middle Tennessee
Saturday, Jan. 7, at UAB
Saturday, Jan. 14, at North Texas
Thursday, Jan. 19, vs. Louisiana Tech
Saturday, Jan. 21, vs. Southern Miss
Thursday, Jan. 26, at Old Dominion
Saturday, Jan. 28, at Charlotte
Saturday, Feb. 4, vs. North Texas
Thursday, Feb. 9, vs. FIU
Saturday, Feb. 11, vs. Florida Atlantic
Thursday, Feb. 16, at UTSA
Saturday, Feb. 18, at UTEP
Thursday, Feb. 23, at Southern Miss
Saturday, Feb. 25, at Louisiana Tech
Thursday, March 2, vs. Marshall
Saturday, March 4, vs. WKU
C-USA Championship (March 8-11, Birmingham, AL) 

-RiceOwls.com-

Facebook

Twitter

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago

Instagram