Elliott and Mayse Selected to the C-USA All-Academic Basketball Team

March 4, 2011

A pair of Rice Owls have been named to the six-member 2011 Conference USA All-Academic Women's Basketball team as announced by the league office. Teammates Megan Elliott and Morgan Mayse were selected to the squad as voted upon by the C-USA schools' women's basketball sports information directors.

A two-time President's Honor Roll member, Elliott maintains a 3.61 GPA as a political science and history double major. She was named the 2010 Women's Basketball Scholar Athlete of the Year and is a four-time C-USA Commissioner's Honor Roll member. Playing a role in all 29 games for the Owls this season, the Atlanta native averages 4.0 rebounds and 4.3 points per game.

Mayse, from Athens, Texas, holds a 3.23 GPA as a kinesiology major studying towards a degree in sports medicine. She is a two-time C-USA Commissioner's Honor Roll member and has started all 30 games during her senior campaign. Mayse ranks third in scoring for the Owls, averaging 11.6 points per game. She also leads the team in three-point percentage with a .467 mark, knocking down 28 or her 60 attempts from behind the arc.

In order to be eligible for the distinction, nominees must hold a minimum 3.2 cumulative grade point average, be a starter or key reserve for their team, and be of sophomore academic standing.

2011 C-USA Women's Basketball All-Academic Team
*Kim Gay East Carolina Senior 3.32 Business
Ariana Jackson East Carolina Sophomore 4.00 Criminal Justice
*Roxana Button Houston Junior 3.88 Psychology
Megan Elliott Rice Senior 3.61 Political Science, History
Morgan Mayse Rice Senior 3.23 Kinesiology - Sports Medicine
**Amanda Peterson UAB Senior 3.68 Exercise Science



*Repeat selection



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago