Rice Men's Cross Country Team Places Third at C-USA Championship

Nov. 1, 2010

Final Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Broken Arrow, Okla. - Junior Michael Trejo placed 10th to lead the Rice Owls men's cross country team to a third place finish at the Conference USA Cross Country Championship held Monday morning at Indian Springs Country Club. Tulsa won the team title with 34 points, while UTEP was a close second with 42 points, and the Owls tallied 87 points. UTEP's Elkana Rotich captured the 8K race with a time of 23:30. This is the fifth year in a row that the Owls have finished third at the C-USA Championship.

"The team ran really well today and by looking at the times it is by far the fastest that each of the top eight have ever ran an 8K," said Owl head Jon Warren. "The top 5 spread was only 33 seconds and that is outstanding."

Trejo, from Dallas, was 10th with a time of 24:17. Sophmore Gabe Cuadra was the second Owl across the finish line at 24:31 to place 16th. Freshman John Cavallo was 19th (24:37) in earning the C-USA Freshman of the Meet honor. In 22nd place was Matt Carey with a time of 24:40.

The Owls now get ready for the NCAA South Central Regional meet on November 14 to be held in Waco, Texas, and hosted by Baylor University.

2010 C-USA Championship Rice Results 10 Michael Trejo 24:17, All-C-USA Second Team
16 Gabe Cuadra 24:31, All-C-USA Third Team
19 John Cavallo 24:37, All-C-USA Third Team
20 Matt Carey 24:40, All-C-USA Third Team
22 James Llamas 24:50
32 Wyatt Doop 25:33
35 Anthony Urbanelli 25:52
37 Travis Roberts 25:53
43 Anthony Lauriello 26:28

2010 C-USA Men's Final Team Standings
1. Tulsa 34
2. UTEP 42
3. Rice 87
4. Marshall 101
5. East Carolina 121
6. Houston 184
7. Memphis 234
8. Tulane 235

Individual Medalist: Elkana Rotich, UTEP
Outstanding Senior: Robert Menjo, UTEP
Freshman of the Year: John Cavallo, Rice
Coach of the Year: Steve Gulley, Tulsa





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago