35 Rice Student-Athletes Receive Commissioner's Medal

April 17, 2009

IRVING, Texas - Led by five student-athletes who are being recognized for the third straight year, Rice University had 35 of its brightest earn the Conference USA Commissioner's Medal during the 2008-09 academic year, announced C-USA Commissioner Britton Banowsky on Friday.

The medals are given to those C-USA student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative grade point average of 3.75 or better.

Women's cross country's Lennie Waite, golfer Michael Buttacavoli, soccer's Katelyn Ostendorf and Erin Scott as well as volleyball player Jessica Boulavsky were all recognized with the honor for the third straight academic year.

Rice had eight others recognized for a second straight year - Phillip Adam (track and field), John Berens (track ad field), Catherine Fitzsimmons (soccer), William Meyers (track and field), Elizabeth Nesbit (soccer), Brett Olson (cross country), Allison Pye (cross country) and Becky Wade (cross country).

Earlier in the week, Conference USA announced Rice had 183 student-athletes earn recognition to C-USA's Commissioner's Honor Roll during the 2008-09 academic year.

Below is a list of Rice student-athletes recognized with the 2008-09 Conference USA Commissioners Medal:

Men's Cross Country
Matt Carey
Brett Olson

Women's Cross Country
Sophie Peeters
Allison Pye
Becky Wade
Lennie Waite

Ross Hill

Men's Golf
Michael Buttacavoli
Erik Mayer
Erik Petersen

Women's Soccer
Catherine Fitzsimmons
Elizabeth Nesbit
Katelyn Ostendorf
Claire Pawlik
Kellen Schugart
Erin Scott
Shelley Wong

Women's Swimming
Nicole Delaloye
Louise Gliga
Angela Wo
Pam Zelnick

Men's Tennis
Sam Garforth-Bles
Isamu Tachibana
Andy Wang

Women's Tennis
Emily Braid
Julie Chao
Ana Guzman
Jessica Jackson

Men's Track and Field
Phillip Adam
John Berens
William Meyers
Dan Sloat

Women's Track and Field
Katie Dollinger

Jessica Boulavsky
Jennifer McClean





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago