Berens and Boulavsky Named Scholar Athletes of the Year

Feb. 11, 2010

2010 Scholar-Athlete Banquet Berens and Boulavsky Named Scholar Athletes of the Year

John Berens and Jessie Boulavsky were named Rice's 2010 Scholar Athletes of the Year during the annual Scholar Athlete Banquet on Thursday night.

Berens, who competes in the jumps for the Rice track team, was named the 2010 winner of the Hubert E Bray Scholar Athlete of the Year while Boulavsky , who became Rice volleyball's fourth ESPN The Magazine/CoSIDA Academic All-America recipient last fall, received the first Margie Sass Scholar Athlete of the Year honor. Each award is presented to the male and female student-athlete with the highest cumulative GPA.

Previously, the Bray Award was presented to both the top male and female scholar-athletes, but the female award was changed to honor Margie Sass, a long-time supporter of Rice Athletics, who passed away last October.

Berens and Boulavsky are both repeat winners of the Ows' top scholar-athlete honor. Berens shared the 2009 Bray Award with Brett Olsen, while Boulavsky shared the Bray honor with Erin Scott.

Boulavsky and Scott were named recipients of the R Association's post-graduate scholarships. Boulavsky received the Margie Sass Scholarship, while Scott received the J. Fred Duckett Scholarship.

The Rice Athletic Department also honored the student athletes who have the highest GPA on their respective team as 2010 Scholar Athletes and those student-athletes who are 3rd, 4th or 5th year students with cumulative GPAs of at least 3.3 as Rice Honor Athletes.

2010 Rice Scholar Athletes
Baseball Jimmy Comerota, Economics, Sport Management
Men's Basketball Trey Stanton, Sport Management
Women's Basketball Megan Elliott, History
Football Terrance Garmon, History
Andrew Sendejo, Sport Management, Business
Men's Golf Michael Buttacavoli, Economics, Business
Men's Tennis Dennis Polyakov, Mathematical Economic Analysis
Women's Tennis Julie Chao, Economics, Business
Men's Cross Country Simon Bucknell, Sport Management
Women's Cross Country Claire Shorall, Biology, Religion
Men's Track & Field Philip Adam, Economics, Business
John Berens, Psychology, Biochemistry & Cell Biology
Women's Track & Field Allison Pye, Kinesiology, Policy Studies
Rebecca Wade, History, Psychology, Sociology
Women's Swimming Angela Wo, Kinesiology
Women's Soccer Erin Scott, Psychology
Katelyn Ostendorf, Biochemistry & Cell Biology
Volleyball Jessie Boulavsky, Psychology
Manager Gaelyn Sicher-Ford, English, Political Science
Trainer Andrew Flowers, Kinesiology, Psychology

2010 Rice Honor Athletes

Volleyball Caroline Gill
Tracey Lam
Jennifer McClean
Meredith Schamun

Alexa Coralli
Stephanie Crain
Catherine Fitzsimmons
Jordan Holloway
Ashley Lucas
Elizabeth Nesbit
Jessica Ross
Shelley Wong

Justin Allen
Travis Bradshaw
James Casey
Clark Fangmeier
Brandon Long
Andrew Mehringer
Matthew Nordstrom
Andrew Novak
Chetachi Ozougwu
Tanner Shuck
Martin Uwah

Robert Burrow

Rebekka Hanle
Jessica Jackson
Rebecca Lin

Kara Lawrence
Tara Watts


Karen Gerken
Sarah Korellis
Megan Land
Erin Mattson
Pamela Zelnick

Track & Field
Andrew Briggs
Connor Hayes
William Meyers
Alan Stafford
Sarah Agara
Katherine Devine
Katie Dollinger
Tiffany Gill
Sarah Lyons
Shannon Moran
Shakera Reece
Victoria Ellen Walker
Britany Williams

Travis Wright

Vanessa Martinez
Kristin Patterson
Daniel Watson





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago