Nduaguba Captures Triple Jump at Duckett/Rice Twilight

April 25, 2010

Complete Results

Duckett/Rice Twilight Complete Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Houston - With a new surface under their feet several Rice Owls' track and field athletes posted outstanding marks and times at the J.Fred Duckett/Rice Twilight held at the newly renamed Holloway Field and Ley Track.

Alex Francis ran a season-fast 11.22 in the 100m to finish 22nd, while Michael Izuchukwu was 26th at 11.35. Francis also ran 22.63 in the 200m to place 24th.

Donte Moore led Rice in the 400m with a fourth-place and season-best time of 47.76.

Dan Sloat was third in the 800m with a season-best time of 1:52.39, while Alex Weinheimer placed fifth with an improved time of 1:53.06. Freshman Mike Troop was 15th a season-best 1:57.24, while Greg King was 28th (2:02.05).

Senior Simon Bucknell led Rice in the 1500m with a fourth-place time a Rice season fast-time of 3:52.44. Freshman Sammy Abuhamra was eighth with an improved time of 3:57.88 and Scott Zivick was 19th (4:04.41).

In the 110m hurdles, Connor Hayes finished seventh with a season-best 14.99, while Philip Adam (15.43) improved his time, and Lee Johnson (15.44) placed 11th and 12th respectively. Collin Shurbet led Rice with a third-place finish in the 400m hurdles with a season-best time of 52.70. Hayes was seventh with an improved time of 54.39, while Lee Johnson improved his time with a ninth-place finish at 54.54.

Justin Maxwell led the Owls in the 3000m steeplechase with a fourth-place and season-best time of 9:23.11 and James llamas was seventh with a season-best 9:27.06.

Gabe Cuadra led Rice in the 5000m with a fourth-place and season-best time of 14:46.26, while Michael Trejo was 10th with a season-best time of 15:02.70.

Rice's Alec Hsu won the pole vault with a season-best mark of 5.16m/16-11. Shea Kearney was fourth with a season-high 4.91m/16-1.25, while Philip Adam was at 4.61m/15-1.5 to place ninth with an improved mark.

In the high jump, Ikechi Nnamani placed fourth at 2.06m/6-9 and Tyler Wiest was seventh at 1.96m/6-5.

Ugo Nduaguba captured the triple jump event with a season-long mark of 15.57m/51-1. John Berens was fourth (14.60m/47-10.75) while Michael Izuchukwu was fifth at 14.01m/45-11.75. In the long jump, Andrew Briggs jumped his season-best 6.95m/22-9.75 to place seventh and Nduaguba was ninth with a season-best 22-6.25. Ikechi Nnamani was 13th at 6.59m/21-7.5

Clay Baker placed ninth in the discus with a mark of 47.08/154-5. Pete Navarra was 26th with a mark of 28.85m/94-8. Baker was also fifth in the shot put with a mark of 15.96m/52-4.5. Alex Zinchenko was sixth at 15.73m/51-7.25.

Philip Adam placed sixth in the javelin with a mark of 48.42m/158-10.

Rice's 4x400m relay team of Donte Moore, Collin Shurbet, Philip Adam, and Jacob Owolabi was second at 3:17.07. That time is the fastest this season for a Rice 4x400m relay.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago