Shurbet Wins 400m Hurdles at UTEP Invitational

April 10, 2010

UTEP Invitational Complete Results

El Paso, Texas - Sophomore Collin Shurbet won the 400m hurdles event at the UTEP Invitational held at Kidd Field. Shurbet ran his fastest time of 2010 in the 400m hurdles at 52.74. Connor Hayes set a new personal-best time for 2010 with a third-place finish at 55.89, while Lee Johnson was fourth (56.08). Also, The Owls went 1-2-3 in the shot put with Alex Zinchenko winning the event at 15.74m/51-7.75. That is a new season-best for Zenchenko. Placing second was Will Meyers (15.65m/51-4.25) and third was Clay Baker (15.49m/50-10).

In the hammer throw, Will Meyers was fourth with a Rice season-best toss of 47.80m/156-10. Clay Baker set a new season-best mark of 46.80m/153-6 to finish fifth. Baker was also third in the discus (47.60m/156-2).

Ikechi Nnamani long jumped 6.66m/21-10.25 to finish fifth and he was sixth in the high jump 1.95m/6-4.75. Tyler Wiest placed fifth in the high jump also at 1.95m/6-4.75.

Jason Colwick won his second consecutive pole vault event with a winning mark of 5.45m/17-10.5. His teammate Alec Hsu was third at 5.05m/16-6.75, while Garrett Stafford was seventh (4.40m/14-5.25).

In the triple jump, Ugo Nduaguba placed fourth with a mark of 15.31m/50-2.75. John Berens was sixth (14.42m/47-3.75), while Michael Izuchukwu was seventh (14.17m/46-6).



The Owls' 4x100m relay team (Donte Moore, Alex Francis, John Welch, and Connor Hayes) was fourth with a time of 41.99. Hayes was also fourth in the 110m hurdles at 15.00, which is the fastest time by an Owl in 2010. Lee Johnson ran his fastest time of the season at 15.44. Welch was sixth in the 100m at 10.81 (2.1w) for his best time of 2010 and 10th in the 200m at 21.98.

Rice's 4x400m relay squad (Moore, Shurbet, Hayes, Johnson) placed second with a season-best time of 3:17.70.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago