Seifert Advances to Round of 32 at Men's ITA Regional

Oct. 20, 2013

Senior Philipp Seifert and a pair of Rice doubles entries will be back in action on Sunday after advancing with wins during the opening day of competition at the USTA-ITA Texas Men's Tennis Regional being held at the Hurd Tennis Center on the campus of Baylor University in Waco, Texas.

Seifert earned a bye in the morning round of 128 and then advanced to the round of 32 with a straight set win over Lamar's Steven McMullan, 6-2; 6-3. Seifert will be on the court Sunday morning to take on SMU's Arturs Kazijevs, the fifth seed in the singles competition, at 11:15 a.m.

Before Seifert takes to the court, the Owls will send a pair of doubles teams to face Texas A&M's top two tandems to open the second day of completion.

Leif Berger and Gustavo Gonzalez will face the top-seeded Texas A&M pairing of Junior Ore and Jackson Withrow. Berger and Gonzalez earned the tough assignment by defeating Carlos Arbiza and Marek Pesicka of UTA 8-5 on Saturday afternoon after earning a first-round bye. Tommy Bennett and Adam Gustafsson also remain alive in doubles, after their 8-3 win over Kevin Bettendroffer/Ricardo Mayagoita of Texas A&M Corpus Christi. They will face off against the second seeds, Harrison Adams and Shane Vinsant or Texas A&M on Sunday morning.

Rice's only other remaining entry is freshmen singles player David Warren, who advance to the second round of the consolation bracket by a walkover after Mischa Nowicki of UTA withdrew.

Three Owls won their opening matches in the round of 128 only to see them lose in the second round.



Shrikar Alla defeated Tito Moreiras of Texas A&M 6-4, 6-0 in the opener, but lost to Lloyd Glasspool of Texas 7-5, 6-1. Max Andrews bounced Daniel Echeverry of UTA, 6-3; 6-0 but dropped a 6-1; 7-6(3) verdict to Vincent Schneider of Baylor. Tommy Bennett raced past Hudson Blake of TCU, 6-2, 6-0, but then lost to George Goldhoff of Texas, 6-4; 6-2.

Full Rice Results:

Singles (Round)
(128) David Warren lost to Mauricio Fosado , UTPA , 1-6; 6-2; 7-6(5)
(128) Maxwell Andrews defeated Daniel Echeverry,UTA, 6-3; 6-0

(128) Gustavo Gonzalez lost Julio Olaya, SMU, 5-7; 6-2; 7-5
(128) Tommy Bennett defeated Hudson Blake, TCU, 6-2, 6-0
(128) Srikar Alla defeated Tito Moreiras Texas A&M 6-4; 6-0
(128) Leif Berger lost to Javier Pujol, A&M Corpus Christi,6-4; 6-2
(64) Tommy Bennett defeats George Goldhoff, Texas,6-4; 6-2
(9) George Goldhoff (64) Adam Gustafsson lost to Nick Naumann, Texas, 6-3; 6-3
(64) Zachary Yablon lost to Diogo Casa ,UTSA , 6-4; 6-4
(64) Maxwell Andrews lost to Vincent Schneider, Baylor, 6-1; 7-6(3)
(64) Srikar Alla lost to Lloyd Glasspool,Texas, 7-5, 6-1
(64) Philipp Seifert defeated Steven McMullan, Lamar 6-2; 6-3

R1 David Warren d. Mischa Nowicki UTA, Wo (inj)

(64) Warren/Yablon Crysel/Lindquist 8-1
(32) Warren/Yablon lost to Nate Lammons and Alex Sanders SMU 8-4
(64) Shrikar Alla/Max Andrews defeat Cortes/Gesser ACU 8-1
(32) Shrikar Alla/Max Andrews lost toDiego Galeano and Mate Zsiga, Baylor, 8-2
(32)Berger and Gonzalez defeated Carlos Arbiza and Marek Pesicka UTA 8-5
(32 ) Bennett/Gustafsson defeated. Bettendroffer/Mayagoita 8-3



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago