C-USA Honors Golf Duo

May 2, 2018

By: Tim Andrzejewski (tim.andrzejewski@rice.edu)

HOUSTON, Texas — Senior golfers Mitchell Meissner and Mario Carmona were honored for their play this season as part of the conference’s annual postseason awards, announced Wednesday afternoon.

Meissner was named first team All-Conference USA while Carmona was named to the second team.

It is the first time that Rice has earned all-conference honors since Kevin Reilly in 2014 and the first time that teammates earned the awards since Christopher Brown and Michael Buttacavoli earned first and second team, respectively, in 2010.

Meissner led Rice with a 71.82 stroke average, the second lowest since 1991-92. He had three top five, five top 10 and seven top 20 finishes. The San Antonio native recorded 17 rounds of par or better with a team-high six rounds in the 60’s.

He joined Christopher Brown in 2010 as the only golfers to win the Conference USA Championship. He also joined Brown in winning two tournaments in a season, also taking home medalist honors at the Ryman Hospitality Intercollegiate. With the victories, he became the first golfer since 1985 to win consecutive tournaments and three tournaments in a career.

Carmona is second on the squad with a 72.18 stroke average, the third lowest since 1991-92. He has two top five, five top 10 and eight top 20 finishes. He leads the team with 18 rounds or par or better while also recording five rounds in the 60’s. The Houston native earned his first career victory at the ORU/SFA Spring Break Challenge.

First Team All-Conference USA
Ian Snyman, North Texas
Mitchell Meissner, Rice
R.J. Keur, UAB
Conor Purcell, Charlotte
Zander Lozano, UTSA

Second Team All-Conference USA
Alex Weiss, Marshall
Tyler Johnson, Middle Tennessee
Mario Carmona, Rice
Charles Corner, UTEP
Billy Tom Sargent, WKU





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago