Rice Football Shares 2013 AFCA Academic Achievement Award

David Bailiff and Pat Fitzgerald (left) of Northwestern were presented the 2010 AFCA Academic Achievement honor.

Nov. 26, 2013

The American Football Coaches Association announced on Tuesday that Rice will join with Georgia, Stanford and Tulane in sharing the 2013 AFCA Aca¬demic Achieve¬ment Award, which is presented by the Touchdown Club of Memphis. Georgia, Rice, Stanford and Tulane recorded a 100 percent graduation rate for members of its freshman football student-athlete class of 2006. The award will be presented at the President's Kickoff Luncheon on Monday, January 13 at the 2014 AFCA Convention in Indianapolis.

This is the first time Georgia and Tulane have been honored, while it is the second honor for Rice and Stanford. The Owls shared the award in 2010 with Northwestern and have annually recognized for maintaining a graduation rate of 90% or better. All four schools have also reach bowl eligibility this year, and Rice and Tulane will meet on Saturday with a berth in the Conference USA championship on the line.

"I have said many times that I have the honor of coaching some of the greatest young men and this achievement tells you all you need to know," Rice head coach David Bailiff said. "They know what the expectations are on and off the field when they come to Rice, and they continue to meet every challenge. They are building a legacy of excellence in all that they do.

"This honor also would not be possible without the dedicated efforts of Julie Griswold and her Academic Advising team," Bailiff noted. "They do a great job with all of the student-athletes at Rice, making sure they have all the support they need."

This year's award marks the sixth time the NCAA's Graduation Success Rate (GSR) formula has been used to select the winner. From 1981 to 2007, the award was presented based on a formula used by the College Football Association and AFCA. Since 2008, the criteria for the AFCA's Academic Achievement Award is based on the highest NCAA GSR, at least 15 students in the GSR Cohort, and a Federal Graduation Rate of 75 percent or better.



Forty-six other institutions will be recognized for graduating 75 percent or more of their football student-athletes. Twelve of those institutions -- Army, Boston College, Duke, East Carolina, Louisiana Tech, Nebraska, Northwestern, South Florida, TCU, UCLA, Virginia Tech and Washington -- achieved a rate of 90 percent or better. The remaining 34 institutions are: Air Force, Alabama, Boise State, Central Florida, Clemson, Connecticut, Florida, Louisiana-Lafayette, Louisville, Maryland, Memphis, Michigan State, Middle Tennessee State, Minnesota, Missouri, Navy, Northern Illinois, Notre Dame, Ohio State, Oregon, SMU, South Carolina, Southern Mississippi, Temple, Texas A&M, Toledo, Tulsa, Utah, Utah State, Virginia, Wake Forest, West Virginia, Western Kentucky and Wisconsin.

The Academic Achievement Award was established by the College Football Association in 1981. The award recognized the CFA-member Football Bowl Subdivision institution with the highest graduation rate among members of its football team. When the CFA disbanded in 1997, the AFCA stepped in to present the award and conduct a graduation rate survey that encompassed all members of the FBS.

The GSR is based on a six-year graduation window for student-athletes which is a change from the five-year window used by the CFA and AFCA. The GSR was developed by the NCAA as part of its academic reform initiative to more accurately assess the academic success of student-athletes. The GSR holds institutions accountable for transfer students, unlike the federal graduation rate. The GSR also accounts for midyear enrollees.

Under GSR calculation, institutions are not penalized for outgoing transfer students who leave in good academic standing. These outgoing transfers are passed to the receiving institution's GSR cohort. By counting incoming transfer students and midyear enrollees, the GSR increases the total number of student-athletes tracked for graduation by more than 37 percent.

2013 Conference Breakdown of Winners and Honorable Mentions: AAC- 7, ACC- 7, Conference USA- 7, Big 10- 6, SEC- 6, Pac-12- 5, Independents- 3, Mountain West- 3, Big 12- 2, MAC- 2, Sun Belt- 2.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago