Solomon One of 19 on Hendricks Award Watch List

Scott Solomon

Nov. 22, 2011

Rice senior defensive end Scott Solomon is one of 19 defensive ends who remain in contention for the 2011 Hendricks Award Watch List as members of the award's final Mid-Season Watch List, which was announced on Monday by the Ted Hendricks Foundation.

This list will be shortened to include five to six finalists in the coming week, and the final vote will be concluded on December 5th. The 2011 Hendricks Award winner will be announced December 7th.

The senior from San Antonio, who missed the 2010 season after suffering a broken bone in his foot the week before the start of the season, returned for his senior year, and has set career highs despite playing the last nine games with a torn PCL in his knee.

Solomon tied the school career record for sacks with a pair last Saturday vs. Tulane and his career total of 24 ranks third among active players at the FBS level. He also ranks third with 22 solo sacks, and is tied for sixth in both career tackles for loss and solo tackles for loss.

Solomon has recorded a career-high 8.5 sacks this season, which ranks second in school history. He has 6.5 of his sacks in the nine games since his injury and has four sacks in the last four games. Overall, he has had at least one TFL in seven of his last eight games. He is tied for the team lead with a pair of fumble recoveries and caused a goal line fumble on fourth down near the Rice goal line vs. Southern Miss that Xavier Webb recovered and returned 96 yards for a touchdown.

A political science major who carries a 3.33 GPA and will graduate in December, Solomon has been named to four C-USA Commissioner's Honor Rolls and is a two-time selection as a Rice Honor Athlete for football. He was named a captain of the team in 2009 in a postseason vote of his teammates and has served as a game captain in multiple games this year.

He switched his number from 13 to 35 at the start of the season to honor his fellow 5th year senior and roommate Travis Bradshaw, who wore 35 for three seasons, but was forced to retire in the first week of fall camp this year because of a neck injury.



Now in its tenth season, the Ted Hendricks Award is named in honor of college football's first three-time first team All-American. On-field performance, exceptional winning attitude, leadership abilities, contributions to school and community and academic preparedness are some of the criteria used to determine the Award's winner. Members of the national media, head coaches, professional scouts and former winners are included in the Award's voting committee. Candidates may represent any class (Freshman through Senior) as well as any four-year NCAA accredited school. The candidate's primary position must be Defensive End.

Previous recipients of the Hendricks Award include: Terrell Suggs (Arizona State), David Pollack (Georgia), Elvis Dumervil (Louisville), LaMarr Woodley (Michigan), Chris Long (Virginia), Brian Orakpo (Texas), Jerry Hughes (TCU) and DaQuan Bowers (Clemson



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago