Honor Jersey Recognition Highlights Homecoming Activities

Nov. 15, 2013

Rice looks to get back on the winning track and continue its streak of Homecoming success when the Owls welcome the Louisiana Tech Bulldogs to Rice Stadium at 6:00 on Saturday. The game will be broadcast nationally with Dave Ryan, Adam Archuleta and Evan Washburn on the call.

Owl fans can tune into the action locally on KGOW (1560 AM) or listen on line.

Rice (6-3/5-1) takes the field for the first time 15 days, a 28-16 loss at North Texas on Halloween Night. That loss snapped the Owls school-record conference winning streak at eight games as well as a five-game winning streak this year and a four-game conference road winning streak. They will carry a six-game home winning streak into action on Saturday as well as a 10-game home winning streak at home in the month of November.

Louisiana Tech (4-5/3-2) is driving for bowl eligibility under new coach Skip Holtz. This is the Bulldogs first appearance at Rice Stadium since 1965 when the Owls took a 14-0 decision on a rainy night in September. That game has now become of interest because it marked the collegiate debut of the Bulldogs' Phil Robertson, who has gone on to stardom in the reality series "Duck Dynasty". The Bulldogs and Owls have played twice since that night in Houston, splitting a pair of games at Reliant Stadium.

The Owls will also be looking to continue their recent run of happy Homecomings. They have won their last eight Homecoming games. The streak began with a 42-34 win over Tulane in 2005, which was Rice's first win as a member of Conference USA.

Homecoming Winning Streak Photo Gallery

In addition to the traditional class reunionS that will take place throughout the game, Rice will honor the three players who became the Owls' first African-American football players as well as the player who served as their recruiting host in 1968 during the game.

Rodrigo Barnes, Mike Tyler and Stahle Vincent, along with their recruiting host, Bucky Allshouse, have been honored all year by four members of the current team who are wearing their numbers as part of the Owls' Honor Jersey initiative.

Barnes began his career wearing #82 but wore #90 during his stellar senior year as a defensive end in 1971. Senior defensive end Cody Bauer wears 90 this fall. Tyler was a three-year standout at defensive back while wearing #24 and senior defensive back Paul Porras honors him in the same number while starting for the third straight year at the KAT position.

Vincent became the first African-American quarterback to play in the Southwest Conference in 1969 before switching to running back as a junior. Senior running back Charles Ross , the Owls' leading rusher, changed from 28 to 12 in his honor Vincent during his senior year. Allshouse wore #40 during his three years as defensive back and junior safety Gabe Baker made the change to that number from his original #27.

Rice head coach David Bailiff began the Honor Jersey tradition in 2012 when Turner Petersen and Cameron Nwosu changed their numbers to honor King Hill and OJ Brigance. Both players have elected to wear those honor numbers as seniors this year.

Allshouse was an All SWC selection as a defensive back and won the George Martin award as the Owls' MVP in 1970 before going into a career in law and serving on the Rice Board of Trustees.

Barnes earned All SWC and All America honors as a defensive end and linebacker at Rice who went on to play four seasons in the NFL, including a Super Bowl championship with Oakland in 1976. Tyler and Barnes were rivals in high school while growing up in Waco, but they joined together to be defensive stalwarts at Rice. Mike was the first of our three honorees to sign with Rice and went on to earn All SWC honors and was drafted by the Detroit Lions.

Vincent completed 51% of his passes and threw for 556 yards while breaking the SWC color barrier at quarterback in 1969. He moved to running back in 1970 and ranks 14th on the Rice career chart with 1,675 yards while earning All SWC honors and being named Rice's MVP in 1971. He was drafted by the Pittsburgh Steelers. He was honored during the UTEP game as a member of the 2013 Rice Athletic Hall of Fame induction class.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago