Taylor Named to Biletnikoff Watch List

Jordan Taylor
Biletnikoff Award Watch List

July 15, 2014

Rice senior wide receiver Jordan Taylor, who heads into his senior year already ranked among the top at his position in school history, has been named to the watch list for the 2014 Biletnikoff Award, which honors the outstanding receiver in college football.   The 2014 list was announced on Tuesday by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation.

The Biletnikoff Award recognizes the outstanding receiver, not merely wide receiver.  The award recipient is selected by a group 221 prominent college football journalists, commentators, and former receivers. Receivers may be added to the watch list as their season performances dictate.  Jarett Dillard of Rice was a finalist for the award in 2006.

A consensus preseason All-CUSA pick, Taylor earned second-team All C-USA honors from league coaches in 2013 and heads into his senior year having caught at least on pass in 22 consecutive games.  He reached career highs in receiving yardage (848) and touchdown receptions (8), including six over the final six games as the Owls marched to their first outright conference title since 1957.  In the C-USA Championship, he set a title game record by stunning Marshall with a career-long, 75-yard touchdown catch to give Rice a 14-0 lead after the Owls first two possessions. He finished the day with six receptions for 131 yards, his fourth career 100-yard receiving day.  His 185 yards on four catches vs. UTEP were the most by a Rice Owl in the history of Rice Stadium and the third highest total in school history.  He enters his final season ranked sixth in career receptions (120) and receiving yards (1,741).

According to TQC Foundation Chairman Charles Hopkins, "Given the significant number of excellent college receivers playing this season, the race for the 2014 Biletnikoff Award will be the most entertaining and wide-open in many years." 



 The 2014 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on December 11, 2014, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN. College and Pro Football Hall of Famer Fred Biletnikoff will announce the 2014 winner on the show. The correlation between Biletnikoff Award winners and stardom in the National Football League is uncannily predictable. Past Biletnikoff Award winners include Calvin Johnson, Randy Moss, Michael Crabtree, and Larry Fitzgerald.

The 2014 Biletnikoff Award winner will receive his trophy at the Biletnikoff Award Banquet at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on Saturday, February 7, 2015.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., will announce the ten Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on November 17, 2014, following the vote by the 221 members of the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on November 24, 2014.  For complete details and updates of interest, together with weekly statistics and timely and important news of the Biletnikoff Award candidates, as well as a fan vote and discussion board, please consult the Foundation website at www.biletnikoffaward.com.

The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was an All-Pro receiver with the Oakland Raiders and an All-America receiver at Florida State University. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI. The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation (TQC), Inc., created the Biletnikoff Award in 1994.

Rice will open training camp for the 2014 season on August 4 and open the 2014 season on August 30 at Notre Dame.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago