Boswell Named to Groza Award Watch List

July 11, 2012

Junior placekicker Chris Boswell is one of 30 kickers who have been named to the official watch list for the 2012 Lou Groza Award, which is presented annually by the Orange Bowl Committee.

Boswell was a semifinalist for the honor as a sophomore while tying the school single-season record with 17 field goals in 2011. Boswell has kicked 28 field goals in his first two years, which ranks third on the Rice career chart and his 156 career points match Froggy Williams for seventh on the career list. He tied for the national lead with three field goals of better than 50 yards, including a pair against Tulane. He has five career three-pointers from at least 50 yards, tying James Hamrick for the school record.

He has been named to Dave Campbell's Texas Football All Texas College preseason team, Phil Steele's All C-USA preseason first team and to the by College Football Performance Award Placekicker Trophy Watch List heading into the 2012 season.

Kickers on the Lou Groza Award Watch List were chosen based on statistics from the 2011 season and 2012 expectations. Ten conferences are represented among the 30 kickers, led by seven from the Big Ten. The SEC follows with six, along with four each from the ACC and the Pac-12. The Big 12, Conference USA and Sun Belt each placed two representatives, while the Big East, MAC and Mountain West each had a kicker recognized. While the Watch List highlights thirty of the best returning kickers in the country, the Groza Committee will be watching all FBS kickers during the season, and releasing a weekly "Stars of the Week" feature on

Accomplishments are tabulated throughout the season and the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award announces its 20 semifinalists on Monday, November 5th. From this list, a panel of more than 300 experts selects the top three finalists for the award by Monday, November 19th. That same group then selects the national winner, who will be announced on Thursday, December 6th during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Award Show, broadcast live from Orlando, Fla.



The 21st Annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, presented by the Orange Bowl Committee, recognizes the three finalists during an early week celebration in Palm Beach County, culminating with a gala awards banquet on December 4th, prior to joining ESPN in Orlando.

The Award is named for National Football League Hall of Fame kicker Lou "The Toe" Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. Although an All-Pro offensive lineman as well, Groza ushered in the notion that there should be a place on an NFL roster for a kicker.

For more information on the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award and to see the "Stars of the Week" throughout the season, please go to For even more updates on the best kicking performances throughout the season, follow @LouGrozaAward on Twitter.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago