Martin Named to Rimington Watch List

May 22, 2017

by Chuck Pool ( -

Rice senior center Trey Martin is one of 63 centers who have been named to the 2017 Rimington Award Spring Watch list, which was announced on Monday.

Martin will enter his third season of anchoring the Owls’ offensive line as the starting center. He was named to Phil Steele’s All-Conference USA third team and was an honorable mention selection by conference coaches despite missing four games in the middle of the 2016 season because of an injury. He made eight starts last year, grading out at 90% or better in each game. He was named a captain of the 2016 Owls in a vote of his teammates. A Sport Management major, Martin is a four-time member of the C-USA Commissioner’s Honor Roll and was a 2017 Rice Scholar Athlete.

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2.9 million for the cystic fibrosis community. The award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $130 million for the fight against cystic fibrosis.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-American center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago