Bailiff Honored for Service by GHFCA

May 2, 2013

HOUSTON, Texas - Rice University head football coach David Bailiff was one of four honorees of the Greater Houston Football Coaches Association's John Kelley Distinguished Service Award, the organization announced Wednesday night at its annual awards dinner.

Bailiff joined Texas Association of Sports Officials referees Mike Atkinson and Keith Kimmel as well as Spring Branch ISD athletic director Paige Hershey in winning the annual award.

In leading Rice to a second bowl victory in his six seasons as head coach, Bailiff joined Jess Neely as the only coach to lead the Owls to multiple bowl games and has continued build a program that makes its mark on the field, in the classroom and in the community.

Among the night's other winners, Pearland coach Tony Heath, Deer Park coach Chris Massey and Cy Ridge's Gary Thiebaud each won the Ronnie Bell Hall of Honor Award. Cinco Ranch High School's Bennett "Doc" Johnson and Tarkington's David Protasi earned the Bobby Gunn Athletic Trainer of the Year Award.

Pearland's Mark Kanipes and Coldspring's Blake Morrison shared Assistant Coach of the Year honors and Goose Creek Memorial's Brenda Boyd was named Wife of the Year.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago