Owls Face Georgia Tech in Anaheim Classic Opener

July 26, 2012

Ben Braun's Rice Owls will face Georgia Tech in the opening round of the 2012 Anaheim Classic, which will be held over Thanksgiving weekend in Anaheim, California. The bracket for the tournament was released on Thursday.

The Owls and Yellow Jackets will face off in the third of four opening games on November 22, with tipoff tentatively set for 8 p.m. (central). The game will be broadcast nationally on ESPNU. Other first round games feature Pacific vs. Xavier, Drexel vs. St. Mary's, and Drake vs. California.

The 2012 Anaheim Classic will feature 12 games through three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracket-tournament format. The two teams that remain undefeated will face off in a championship game Sunday, Nov. 25. The Big West will again serve as the event's hosting conference.

ESPNU will carry six of the tournament games, while ESPN2 will air five, including the Championship Game on Sunday, Nov. 25, at 9 p.m. ET. ESPN3 will have the one remaining game and the entire tournament will be available through WatchESPN, accessible online at WatchESPN.com and through smartphones and tablets via the WatchESPN app to fans who receive their video subscription from an affiliated provider.

Six of the eight teams advanced to 2012 postseason play, including Cal, Saint Mary's and Xavier in the NCAA Championship

Additional information, including travel packages, can be found on the Anaheim Classic website

Travel packages are available for fans and include hotel accommodations at the team hotel, game tickets, exclusive welcome reception and much more. Visit AnthonyTravel.com/AnaheimClassic or call 888-632-6951 to make your reservation today! For more information on Disneyland Resort, visit www.disneyland.com.

The Anaheim Classic is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN.

The inaugural event was played in 2007, with USC capturing the title. In year's following, Wake Forest (2008), West Virginia (2009), UNLV (2010) and Saint Louis (2011) were all tournament winners.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago