Men’s Basketball Signs Drew Peterson

April 11, 2018

By: Tim Andrzejewski (

HOUSTON — Rice men’s basketball coach Scott Pera has announced the signing of Drew Peterson (Libertyville, Ill.) to a national letter of intent for the 2018-19 school year, Pera announced Wednesday afternoon.

Peterson, a 6-8 guard/forward who played for Brian Zyrkowski at Libertyville High School, led the Wildcats to a 19-10 record, their first Class 4A regional title since 2004 and first conference title since 1998. He averaged 26.1 points, 8.5 rebounds and 4.4 assists while shooting 49.5% from the field, 39.1% from three and 81.8% from the free throw line. He also recorded 10 double-doubles and six 30-point games while finishing his career with 1,550 points. Peterson played AAU for the Illinois Wolves coached by Mike Mullins.

Peterson was named the Lake County Player of the Year and the Pioneer Press Player of the Year. He was named First Team All-State by the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association (IBCA) and the City/Suburban Hoops Report and Second Team All-State by the Chicago Tribune. He was also named First Team All-Area and First Team All-County.

“I am excited to announce the signing of Drew Peterson from Libertyville High School, just north of Chicago,” said Pera. “Drew will be a great addition to Rice University and our basketball program. He is a highly motivated student and a terrific basketball player. He checks every box in what we are looking for as we continue to build toward the future.”

Pera added, “On the court, he has a unique skill set for a guy his size. He can play multiple positions and is a terrific passer as well as a long range shooter. He had an outstanding senior season and racked up a ton of accolades. He joins a class that we feel will help us take this program back near the top of Conference USA in the coming years. This is a great day for Rice basketball and we can’t wait to get Drew and his classmates on campus this summer.”



Peterson is rated a three-star prospect by 247sports and He joins Quentin Millora-Brown (Lorton, Va.), Trey Murphy (Cary, N.C.), Payton Moore (Los Angeles, Calif.) and Chris Mullins (Grand Prairie, Texas) in the 2018-19 class.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago