Braun Named Finalist for Red Auerbach Award

Ben Braun

March 13, 2012

Rice University head coach Ben Braun has been named one of three finalists for the 2012 Red Auerbach College Coach of the Year Award.

The Red Auerbach Award is given annually to the nation's top Jewish College coach, as voted on by the members of the Jewish Coaches Association (JCA). The finalists were announced on Tuesday and the winner will be presented with the award at the Final Four in New Orleans next month.

In his fourth season, Braun has led the Owls back to postseason play for the first time since 2005. The Owls will open play in the Postseason Tournament on Wednesday at Louisiana-Lafayette.

Rice is 17-15 overall and posted an 8-8 record in Conference USA play. The Owls' .500 record in league play comes after the team had a combined 10 league wins over the last four seasons.

The other two finalists for the Red Auerbach Award are Kent State coach Rob Senderoff and Emmanuel College women's coach Andy Yosinoff.

In his first year at Kent State, Senderoff guides the Golden Eagles to a 21-11 record. The Golden Flashes are also playing in the CIT.

In his 35th year, Yosinoff guided the Lady Saints to a 25-7 record and their 17th NCAA Division III Tournament. Emmanuel College was undefeated in conference play and won their league title. The Lady Saints' season ended with a loss in the NCAA Elite Eight.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago