Lemond Named To Watch List for College Stopper of the Year Award

Zech Lemond
Jones College

April 23, 2013

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Rice sophomore right-handed pitcher Zech Lemond is one of 51 players who have been named to the mid-season watch list for the ninth annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Stopper of the Year Award, given to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I baseball, the organization announced on Tuesday.

Lemond has made 17 appearances for the 18th-ranked Owls this season, pitching a total of 41.0 innings. The Houston, Tex., native has posted a 4-1 record with a 1.56 ERA and a league-leading nine saves. He has struck out 40 batters and walked just 13, while allowing opponents to bat only .207 against him. Lemond has closed out five shutouts on the year for Rice.

Nominations for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award were made by baseball sports information/media relations contacts and more than 90 nominations were received. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 5, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional tournament competition.

The NCBWA's All-America Committee will select the winner, with this year's recipient to be announced during the 2013 College World Series.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006 and Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007. Georgia's Joshua Fields topped the field in 2008, San Diego State's Addison Reed grabbed the honor in 2009 and Texas' Chance Ruffin earned the honor in 2010. Texas' Corey Knebel won in 2011 with Southeastern Louisiana's Stefan Lopez picking up the honor in 2012. Knebel is on the 2013 watch list.

Pitcher, School, YR

Hugh Adams, Florida Atlantic, Sr.
Kyle Bartsch, South Alabama, Sr.
David Berg, UCLA, So.
Robby Coles, Florida State, Jr.
Ryan Connolly, Coastal Carolina, Sr.
Chris Cotton, LSU, Sr.
Kyle Crockett, Virginia, Jr.
Jordan Dailey, Bethune-Cookman, Sr.
Josh Davis, Belmont, Sr.
Trace Dempsey, Ohio State, So.
Bubba Derby, San Diego State, Fr.
Jacob Dorris, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, So.
Jacob Evans, Oklahoma, Fr.
Eric Eck, Wofford, Jr.
Michael Fain, Nevada, Fr.
Trevor Frank, UC Riverside, Sr.
Ian Gibaut, Tulane, Fr.
Ronnie Glenn, Penn, So.
Trevor Gott, Kentucky, Jr.
Gavin Guarrera, NC Central, Sr.
Preston Hatcher, Western Carolina, Sr.
Matt Hicks, Louisiana-Lafayette, Jr.
Dylan Hills, Southeastern Louisiana, Jr.
Jonathan Holder, Mississippi State, So.
Brett Huber, Mississippi, Sr.
Skylar Hunter, The Citadel, Fr.
Andrew Istler, Duke, So.
Jason Jester, Texas A&M, Jr.
Corey Knebel, Texas, Jr.
Zech Lemond, Rice, So.
Michael Lorenzen, Cal State Fullerton, Jr.
Seth Lucio, Tennessee Tech, So.
Johnny Magliozzi, Florida, So.
Zach Mawson, Rider, So.
Sutter McLoughlin, Sacramento State, Fr.
Brian Miller, Vanderbilt, So.
Eric Nedeljkovic, Miami (Fla.), Sr.
Jordan Piché, Kansas, Jr.
Reed Reilly, Cal Poly, So.
Tyler Rogers, Austin Peay, Sr.
Scott Schultz, Oregon State, Jr.
Jimmie Sherfy, Oregon, Jr.
Dan Slania, Notre Dame, Jr.
Travis Stout , Jacksonville State, So.
Michael Swanner, Pepperdine, Jr.
Ryan Thompson, Campbell, Jr.
Mathew Troupe, Arizona, So.
Jonathan Van Eaton, Memphis, Jr.
Tyler Webb, South Carolina, Sr.
Eric Yardley, Seattle, Sr.
Nate Young, Elon, Sr.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago