Myers & Otto Each Named To Watch Lists For National Awards

April 20, 2016

College Baseball Hall of Fame new releases

LUBBOCK, Texas – Rice’s sophomore duo of Dane Myers and Glenn Otto have each been named to the respective watch list for some of the top awards presented annually by the National College Baseball Hall of Fame, the organization announced Wednesday from its headquarters in Lubbock, Texas.

Otto made the initial watch list for the 2016 National Pitcher of the Year Award. Myers has been named to the first watch list for the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award, honoring the nation's top performer who contributes both on the mound and at the plate. Both awards will be presented as part of the College Baseball Hall of Fame's Night of Champions celebration in Lubbock this July.

Myers has made a key contribution to the team as a relief pitcher in addition to his regular duty of starting each of Rice’s 35 games at third base. He owns a .252 batting average, leads the Owls with three triples and shares the team lead with 20 runs scored. The Katy, Texas, native has been a steady fielder at the hot corner, but also been brought in to pitch in order to make the most of his versatile skills. In seven appearances on the mound this season, Myers has notched four saves, maintained a 3.00 ERA, held opposing hitters to a .190 average and struck out 13 in 12.0 innings of work.

Otto is the squad’s leader with seven saves. The stopper from Spring, Texas, owns an austere 1.37 ERA, held opposing hitters to a composite .204 average and been Rice’s winning pitcher four times. He has struck out 48 batters in 39.1 innings, an eye-opening 10.98 strikeouts per 9.0 innings of work.

The official watch lists for the College Baseball Hall of Fame awards can be viewed at the above link.



The Rice baseball team, 24-11 overall and 12-3 in C-USA, is next in action on Friday (April 22). The Owls play at Southern Miss in a showdown of the two teams currently sharing first place in the league standings. Start time is set for 7 pm and the contest is scheduled for a live television broadcast on FS2.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago