Chargois Named To National Watch List For Stopper of the Year Award

J.T. Chargois
Brown College

April 19, 2012

WICHITA, Kan. - Rice junior J.T. Chargois has been named to the midseason watch list for the annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, presented to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I baseball, the NCBWA announced Thursday (April 19).

Chargois notched his Conference USA-leading eighth save of the season with a dramatic shutout inning of work to close out Rice's thrilling 5-4 upset of No. 2 ranked Texas A&M Tuesday (April 17) night on the road in College Station. The right-hander from Sulphur, La., struck out both of the final two batters of the game to stop an Aggie rally with two runners on base in the bottom of the ninth inning. The A&M save was his fourth-straight in his last four outings. Chargois has also posted saves against Stanford, Tulane, Texas State, Marshall, New Mexico State and Dallas Baptist (twice). He has maintained a 2.66 ERA in a total of 23.2 innings over 18 appearances and held all opposing hitters to a composite .188 batting average.

Nominations for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award were made by baseball sports information/media relation contacts and more than 90 nominations were received. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released June 6 prior to start of NCAA Super Regional tournament competition. The NCBWA's All-America Committee will select the winner, with this year's recipient to be announced during the 2012 College World Series.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006, Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007, Georgia's Joshua Fields topping the field in 2008, San Diego State's Addison Reed grabbing the honor in 2009, Texas' Chance Ruffin earning the honor in 2010 and Texas freshman Corey Knebel winning it last season.



The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I and III Players of the Week, Division I District Players of the Year and Division III Players of the Year. For more information on the NCBWA Stopper of the Year, contact Tami Cutler at Wichita State at 316-978-5559 or Russ Anderson at Conference USA at 214-774-1300.

The Rice baseball team (28-11 overall and ranked as high as No. 9 in the nation) has completed the recent road swing and returns to Reckling Park for an extended homestand beginning on April 20. The Owls host C-USA rival East Carolina on Friday to begin a three-game weekend series. The 6:30 pm game against the Pirates is the first of 11-straight home games for the Blue & Gray through mid May.


Pitcher, School, YR
R.J. Alvarez Florida Atlantic Jr.
Barrett Astin Arkansas So.
Jake Barrett Arizona State Jr.
Robert Benincasa Florida State Jr.
Nick Blount Tennessee Jr.
Tony Bryant Oregon State Jr.
Tyler Burgess Missouri State Fr.
Chase Byerly Butler Jr.
J.T. Chargois Rice Jr.
Scott Coffman New Mexico State Sr.
Blake Dieterich Georgia Jr.
Michael Dimock Wake Forest Sr.
Matt Duncan Morehead State Jr.
Cale Elam Wichita State So.
E.J. Encinosa Miami, Fla. Jr.
Garrett Fanchier Belmont Sr.
Matt Gardner Nevada Sr.
Mike Gomez FIU Jr.
Nick Goody LSU Jr.
Trevor Gott Kentucky So.
Scott Griggs UCLA Jr.
Preston Hatcher Western Carolina Jr.
Brett Huber Ole Miss Jr.
Nathan Hyatt Appalachian State Sr.
Owen Jones Portland Sr.
Corey Knebel Texas So.
Kenny Long Illinois State Sr.
Stefan Lopez Southeastern Louisiana Jr.
Michael Lorenzen Cal State Fullerton So.
Austin Maddox Florida Jr.
Mason Marshall BYU Fr.
Tanner Merritt East Carolina So.
Michael Morin North Carolina Jr.
Chris O'Grady George Mason Jr.
David Peterson College of Charleston Sr.
Robbie Powell Stetson Sr.
Dustin Quattrocchi SIUE Sr.
Caleb Reed Mississippi State Sr.
Joe Rogers UCF Jr.
Derek Self Louisville Sr.
Jimmie Sherfy Oregon So.
Chad Sobotka USC Upstate Fr.
Justin Thompson Virginia Sr.
Michael Wagner San Diego So.
Nick Wittgren Purdue Jr.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago