Lineup Cards Filling Up For Saturday's Varsity-Alumni Game

Jan. 23, 2006

HOUSTON - More than 90 Rice baseball lettermen from across the country are coming back on campus to be on hand for the program's biennial varsity-alumni game scheduled for noon Saturday (Jan. 28) at Reckling Park. Fans will have a chance to see Owl greats as well as the 2006 squad in action.

The alumni roster features current professionals like David Aardsma, Wade Townsend, Paul Janish, Chris Kolkhorst and Justin Ruchti. Mix in former national player of the year Damon Thames, school career hits leader Austin Davis and 2005 draft pick Josh Geer and the alumni squad is loaded with talent and experience.

The format for the event is actually two games in one. The first game is the six-inning varsity-alumni exhibition. The second is two alumni teams in a three-inning game. Tickets are available at the Rice ticket office.

A number of baseball letterman will be on hand but have opted not to play in either of the games. Those individuals will be recognized on the field at Reckling Park. Lettermen wishing to take part in the event should contact Rice associate athletics director Mike Pede at 713-348-6917. The participation lists are as follows.

Alumni playing against the 2006 varsity (innings 1-6):
David Aardsma, Donald Allen, Jeff Blackinton, Austin Davis, Josh Geer, Phillip Ghutzman, Kevin Hodge, Paul Janish, Jeff Jorgensen, Chris Kolkhorst, Jay Knoblaugh, Jacques Landry, Mike Lorsbach, John Lukin, Clay Reichenbach, Justin Ruchti, Xavier Sandoval, Brett Smith, Damon Thames, Wade Townsend, Jerry Van Noy and Charles Williams

Alumni vs. Alumni (innings 7-9):
Mitch Ackal, Jacob Baker, Josh Baker, Bryan Boyne, Joseph Cathey, Paul Doyle, Chad Feris, Chris Feris, Glenn Fuller, Larry Hardy, Jeff Hays, Steven Herce, Adam Herndon, Sheldon Kaufman, Matt Lorenz, Shawn Mikeska, Ted Nowak, David Ownby, Ron Peoples, Jason Richards, Shible Simon, Jerry Sims, John Stephenson, Ron Stinebaugh, Jim Woodruff

Other Participating Alumni:
Tommy Alexander, Jim Ashmore, Bill Arhos, Philip Barzilla, Kenny Baugh, Dane Bubela, Jim Castaneda, Jason Choate, Justin Crowder, Jose Cruz, Jr., David Devine, Paul Dishman, William Ford, Michael Grace, Richard Hairston, Sean Hirsch, Philip Humber, Guy Jackson, Bo Johnson, James Madrid, Frankie B. Mandola, Allan Matthews, Al Mills, Greg Mitchell, Matt Moake, David Moss, Marcus Nalepa, Jeff Neimann, Doug Osburn, Lance Pendleton, Biff Perdue, Dick Pollard, Jon Prather, Allan Ramirez, Carl Reynolds, Drew Skaggs, Jon Skaggs, Bill Sloan, Jay Simpson, Jayme Sperring, Rick Strebeck, Jeff Venghaus, Michael Wilson, Scott Wise, John Wolda;





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago