Athletics News

Cuadra and Obermeyer Claim Top Accolades at Night of the Owl

April 11, 2013

Photo Gallery

Rice University student-athletes celebrated a successful year on Thursday night at the annual Night of the Owl event, presented by the "R" Association. Men's track and field athlete Gabe Cuadra and women's soccer player Andie Obermeyer claimed the top honors bestowed on Rice University scholar-athletes.

Obermeyer, a senior goal keeper from Beverly Hills, Mich., received the 38th Joyce Pounds Hardy Award, which honors long-time Rice supporter Joyce Pounds Hardy and is presented to the top overall female student-athlete for her efforts in athletics, in the classroom and in the community. Obermeyer served as Student-Athlete Advisory Committee president in 2012-13 and is a four-time Conference USA Commissioner's Medal winner.

Cuadra, a top Owl distance runner, was presented with the 2013 Bob Quin Award, given annually to Rice Athletics' most outstanding all-around senior male athlete. The award honors Quin, a well-respected Rice student-athlete who passed away during an Atlantic voyage in 1930. The Friendswood, Texas native was Rice's top finisher in the 2013 Conference USA Indoor Championship meet in the 3,000-meter and 5,000-meter runs, the 2012 C-USA Cross Country Championship and in the 5,000-meter and 10,000-meter runs at last spring's 2012 CUSA Outdoor Championship meet.

Also recognized during Night of the Owl were most valuable players for each sport along with other end-of-the-year awards. The celebration included the presentation of Rice Athletics' highest academic awards, the OJ Brigance Courage Award, the Carl Isgren Iron Owl Award winners along with Spirit and Community Service awards.

Men's track and field athlete Matt Carey claimed his third-straight Hubert E. Bray Scholar Athlete of the Year Award, while Farrah Madanay claimed the highest athletic academic award for female student-athletes, the Margie E. Sass Scholar Athlete of the Year honor.

Carey finished 31st overall and helped the Owls to third place at the 2012 C-USA Cross Country Championship. He competes in distance events in track and field and was named an Academic All-American last season.

Madanay placed third on the team and 35th overall in the 2012 C-USA Cross Country Championship to guide Rice to a fourth-place finish. The native of Honolulu, Hawaii competes in numerous distance events for the track and field squad. The junior won the 2011 C-USA Spirit of Service Award for her extensive volunteer work in the community.

Carey also earned the "R" Association's J. Fred Duckett Postgraduate Scholarship, while soccer senior Lauren LaGro was named the "R" Association Margie E. Sass Postgraduate recipient.

A Dallas native, LaGro earned C-USA All-Academic team honors this season, was named CoSIDA Academic All-District and earned NSCAA All-Scholar South Region accolades as well. The four-year starter on the back line helped Rice to the Conference USA regular season title in 2012.

Below is a complete list of award winners.

Night of the Owl Award Recipients
Joyce Pounds Hardy Award - Andie Obermeyer (soccer)
Bob Quin Award - Gabe Cuadra (track and field)
"R" Association Margie Sass Postgraduate Scholarship - Lauren LaGro (soccer)
"R" Association J. Fred Duckett Postgraduate Scholarship - Matt Carey (track and field)
Carl Isgren Iron Owl Awards - Max Guercy (men's basketball), Mariah Riddlesprigger (volleyball), Luke Willson (football)
O.J. Brigance Courage Award - Gabe Baker (football)
Hubert E. Bray Scholar Athlete of the Year - Matt Carey (track and field)
Margie E. Sass Scholar Athlete of the Year - Farrah Madanay (cross country/track and field)
SAAC Coach of the Year - Genny Volpe (volleyball)

Sport MVP Awards
Baseball - Dell Morgan Award - J.T. Chargois
Men's Basketball - Billy Wohn Award - Tamir Jackson
Women's Basketball - Gene Hackerman Award - Jessica Kuster
Men's Cross Country - Jeff Wells Award - Gabe Cuadra
Women's Cross Country - Mikki Hebl Award - Marie Thompson
Football - George Martin Award - Phillip Gaines
Golf - Vic Cameron Award - Jeff Wibawa
Women's Soccer - Holly Hargreaves
Swimming - Catherine Hannah Award - Casey Clark
Women's Tennis - Kay Pearson Keating Award - Natalie Beazant
Men's Tennis - Sammy Giammalva Award - Sam Garforth-Bles
Men's Track and Field - Fred Hansen/Dave Roberts Award - Clayton Chaney
Women's Track and Field - Eva Jean Lee Award - Becky Wade
Volleyball - Hally Beth Poindexter Award - Nancy Cole and Megan Murphy



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago