Athletics News

Syptak, DiSesa Take Major Honors At Spring Banquet

April 10, 2006

Houston - Football's John Syptak won the Bob Quin Award, and tennis' Blair DiSesa won the Joyce Pounds Hardy Award to highlight the annual Rice spring awards presentation Monday night at the Rice Memorial Center.

Syptak, a senior from Bellville, was the 76th recipient of the Quin Award as Rice's outstanding senior male student-athlete. DiSesa, a senior from Palm Beach Gardens, Fla., received the Pounds Hardy Award as Rice's outstanding female athlete.

"R" Association scholarships went to basketball's Latrice Elder, track and soccer's Sarah Yoder, and basketball/volleyball athlete Catherine DuPont.

In other women's awards, Brittany Massengale and Diane Gu were honored with the Catherine Hannah Award as the most valuable swimmers; Olaya Pazo took the Hally Beth Poindexter Award in volleyball; Lauren Neaves received the Gene Hackerman Award for women's basketball; and Beth Martin and Erin Droeger took the soccer team's MVP trophy. Sports with ongoing seasons presented 2005 awards: Dominique Karas won the Kay Pearson Keating Award for women's tennis; and Krystal Robinson took the Eva Jean Lee Award as that sport's MVP. The winner of the Fred and Florence Stancliff Award for the outstanding senior athlete in track and field will be named later this spring.

In men's sports, Morris Almond was named the outstanding athlete for men's basketball, winning the Billy Wohn Award; and Quinton Smith took the George Martin Award as the most valuable Rice football player.

Awards were also presented in baseball, golf, tennis, and track and field for the 2005 season. The Dell Morgan Award honoring the baseball team's most valuable player went to Joe Savery; Frank Buttacavoli was honored with the Vic Cameron Award in golf; Robert Searle won the Sammy Giammalva Award for tennis; and in track, Marcel Hewamudalige won the Fred and Florence Stancliff Award while Adam Davis was awarded the Emmett Brunson Award.

Cheerleaders Russell Shafer and Dara Ufot received the Tom Crumpton Memorial Award.The Rice Spirit Award was given to the founders of the Autry Army: Dave Blackstock, Jack Replinger, Luke Gilman, Kate Gunn, and Zach Dreyfuss.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago