Athletics News

Wade, Bradshaw Capture Rice Athletics' Highest Honors

Becky Wade (left) was named the 2012 recipient of the Joyce Pounds Hardy Award, given annually to the most outstanding female student-athlete. Presenting Wade with the award is Senior Associate Athletic Director Stacy Mosely.

Night of the Owl Photo Gallery

April 9, 2012

Track and field standout Becky Wade, who recently qualified for the U.S. Olympic Trials in the 10,000 meters, and Travis Bradshaw, who was named the 2010 football season's most valuable player, received the highest honors bestowed on Rice University scholar-athletes during Monday's `Night of the Owl' celebration presented by the "R" Association.

Wade received the 37th Joyce Pounds Hardy Award, which honors long-time Rice supporter Joyce Pounds Hardy and is presented to the top overall female student-athlete for her efforts in athletics, in the classroom and in the community.

Bradshaw, an Academic All-America selection who finished his career ranked among the Top 10 tacklers in Rice history, was named the winner of the 2012 Bob Quin Award. The Bob Quin Award is given to Rice Athletics' most outstanding all-around senior male athlete in memory of Bob Quin, a well-respected Rice student-athlete who passed away during an Atlantic voyage in 1930.

Also recognized during `Night of the Owl' were most valuable players for each sport along with other end-of-the-year awards. The celebration included the presentation of Rice Athletics' highest academic awards, the Rice Freshman of the Year Award and the Carl Isgren Iron Owl Award winners along with Coach of the Year, Spirit and Community Service awards.

The event also paid tribute to Ron Smarr, who is retiring at the end of the 2012 season as the men's tennis coach at Rice. Smarr is the winningest coach in collegiate men's tennis.

Wade was one of three seniors to reflect on their time at Rice during Monday's event. Just last Friday, she broke the school 10,000m record which had stood for 20-plus years, placing fifth at the Stanford Invitational with a time of 32:40.82 to qualify for the U.S. Olympic Trials.

Wade has won numerous Conference USA individual titles and is a three-time U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association All-America for Rice. Earlier this year she finished 13th in the 5,000m at the NCAA Indoor Championship to earn second-team All-America recognition.

Also last month, Wade was awarded one of only 39 nation-wide Thomas J. Watson Fellowships for 2012-13. The Thomas J. Watson Fellowship offers college graduates of "unusual promise" a year of independent, purposeful exploration and travel -in international settings new to them - to enhance their capacity for resourcefulness, imagination, openness and leadership to foster their humane and effective participation in the world community.

The Dallas native will spend her Watson Fellowship year traveling to the United Kingdom, Ethiopia, Japan, New Zealand and Finland exploring the running culture of each country.

Bradshaw, who was forced to give up his pursuit of the Owls' career tackle record prior to his senior season because of an injury, became the first, three-time recipient of the James W. Glanville Award. The Glanville Award is named in honor of the former Rice treasurer and member of the board of governors and is presented to the football player who has achieved excellence in athletics, academics and integrity.

In three seasons, Bradshaw recorded 286 total tackles which ranks tied for ninth all-time at Rice. He shared the George Martin Award as the Owls' Most Valuable Player in 2010 when he was named to the Capital One/CoSIDA Academic All-America Team for a second straight year.

The Cypress native and former walk-on was named one of the Owls' team captains for the 2011 season.

Matt Carey and Sophie Peeters were repeat winners of Rice's highest athletic academic awards. Carey, a distance runner on the men's track and field team as well as a member of the cross country squad, was named the 2012 Hubert E. Bray Scholar Athlete of the Award. Peeters, who competes primarily in the 800m, 1500m and the indoor mile for the women's track and field team, was named the 2012 Margie E. Sass Scholar Athlete of the Year.

Wade was one of two members of the Rice women's track and field team to receive post-graduate scholarships. She was awarded the "R" Association J.Fred Duckett Postgraduate Scholarship. Teammate Allison Pye received the "R" Association Margie Sass Postgraduate Scholarship.

Below is a complete list of award winners.

Night of the Owl Award Recipients
"R" Association Margie Sass Postgraduate Scholarship - Allison Pye (Women's Track and Field)
"R" Association J. Fred Duckett Postgraduate Scholarship - Becky Wade (Women's Track and Field)
2nd Annual SAAC Coach of the Year - David Bailiff (Football)
Cheerleading Scholarship Awards - Alyssa Thomas & Nkemji Nweke
Freshman of the Year Award - Natalie Beazant (Women's Tennis)
Carl Isgren Iron Owl Awards - Simone Martin (Women's Track and Field) & Michael Ratterree (Baseball)
Spirit Award - Bob Schlanger
O.J. Brigance Courage Award - Tyler Smith (Football)
Community Service Team Award - Volleyball
Hubert E. Bray Scholar Athlete of the Year - Matt Carey (Men's Track and Field)
Margie E. Sass Scholar Athlete of the Year - Sophie Peeters (Women's Track and Field)
2012 Bob Quin Award - Travis Bradshaw (Football)
2012 Joyce Pounds Hardy Award - Becky Wade (Track and Field)

Sport MVP Awards
Baseball - Dell Morgan Award - Tony Cingrani
Women's Basketball - Gene Hackerman Award - Jessica Kuster
Women's Cross Country & Track and Field - Eva Jean Lee Award - Ariana Ince
Men's Cross Country & Track and Field - Phillip Adam
Footall - George Martin Award - Tyler Smith
Golf - Vic Cameron Award - Jeff Wibawa
Women's Soccer - Julia Barrow
Swimming - Catherine Hannah Award - Chelsea Fong
Women's Tennis - Kay Pearson Keating Award - Dominique Harmath & Kimberly Anicete
Men's Tennis - Sammy Giammalva Award - Harry Fowler
Volleyball - Hally Beth Poindexter Award - Nancy Cole



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago