Athletics News

Karakolis and Uke Earn Top Honors at Night of the Owl

April 6, 2016

By: Tim Andrzejewski (

HOUSTON -- Rice student-athletes celebrated a successful year Wednesday evening at the annual Night of the Owls event, presented by the R Association. Men's track and field athlete Evan Karakolis and women's track and field athlete Claire Uke took home the Bob Quin and Joyce Pounds Hardy Awards, respectively.

Karakolis won the javelin throw at both the Victor Lopez Classic and the J. Fred Duckett Twilight. He earned All-Academic honors from Conference USA, Capital One and the USTFCCCA while being named the C-USA Men's Track and Field Scholar Athlete of the Year. At the TSU Relays, the Scarborough, Ontario, Canada broke his own school record in the javelin with a throw of 72.76m (238-8.00) to win the event.

Uke had an indoor season for the ages, breaking former Rice All-American Regina Cavanaugh's 29-year-old school record in the shot put with a throw of 17.95m (58-10.75) to win her third straight C-USA title in the event. The Cedar Springs native placed eighth at the NCAA Indoor Championships to earn USTFCCCA First-Team All-American honors for a second straight year. She won five separate events on her way to becoming the fourth athlete in Conference USA history to win the C-USA Field Athlete of the Week three times in a season.

For the second consecutive year, Karakolis and Leah Mikesky (volleyball) claimed the Dr. Hubert E. Bray Scholar Athlete of the Year awards.

Also recognized during Night of the Owl were most valuable players for each sport along with other end-of-the-year awards. The celebration included the presentation of Rice Athletics' highest academic awards, the OJ Brigance Courage Award, the Carl Isgren Iron Owl Award winners along with Spirit and Community Service awards.

Among the team Most Valuable Player awards, Cali Roper (women's cross country) won her third straight team award, while William Firth (men's cross country) is a repeat winner.

A complete list of award winners is below.

Night of the Owls Award Recipients
Bob Quin Award -- Evan Karakolis (men's track and field)
Joyce Pounds Hardy -- Claire Uke (women's track and field)
Dr. Hubert E. Bray Male Scholar Athlete of the Year -- Evan Karakolis (men's track and field)
Dr. Hubert E. Bray Female Scholar Athlete of the Year -- Leah Mikesky (volleyball)
Carl Isgren Iron Owl Awards -- Derek Brown (football), Emmanuel Ellerbee (football), Adam Gustafsson (men's tennis), Maya Hawkins (women's basketball)
SAAC Coach of the Year -- Tina Langley (women's basketball)
SAAC Assistant Coach of the Year -- Funmi Jimoh (track and field)
SAAC Monumental Achievement Award -- Julie Griswold (Associate Director of Academic Advising) Spirit of Rice Awards -- Felipe Avila (custodian), Ricardo Palma (custodian)
Community Service Team Award - Volleyball
Freshman of the Year -- Marcus Evans (men's basketball)

Sport MVP Awards
Baseball -- Dell Morgan Award -- Ford Stainback
Men's Basketball -- Billy Wohn Award -- Marcus Evans
Women's Basketball -- Gene Hackerman Award -- Jasmine Goodwine
Men's Cross Country -- Jeff Wells Award -- William Firth
Women's Cross Country -- Mikki Hebl Award -- Cali Roper
Golf -- Vic Cameron Award -- Mario Carmona
Women's Soccer -- Lauren Hughes
Swimming -- Catherine Hannah Award -- Alicia Caldwell
Men's Tennis -- Sammy Giammalva Award -- David Warren
Women's Tennis -- Kay Pearson Keating Award -- Natalie Beazant
Men's Track and Field -- Fred Hansen/Dave Roberts Award -- Scott Filip (outdoor), Chris Pillow (indoor)
Women's Track and Field -- Eva Jean Lee Award -- Daisy Ding
Volleyball -- Hally Beth Poindexter Award -- Leah Mikesky
Football's George Martin Award winner will be announced at Sunday's team banquet.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago