Athletics News

Owls Receive C-USA Academic Medals

March 28, 2012

Rice University had 38 student-athletes earn the Conference USA Commissioner's Academic Medal during the 2011-12 academic year, Commissioner Britton Banowsky announced Wednesday.

The medals are awarded to those Conference USA student-athletes who have achieve a grade point average of 3.75 or better. A total of 538 student-athletes, up from last year's total of 485, from league institutions were recognized on Wednesday. For the second year in a row, Tulsa had the most academic medal winners with 63. TU was followed closely by Memphis with 60 and East Carolina with 49.

Below is a list of Rice student-athletes by sport who received the C-USA Commissioner's Medal this year:

Rice Academic Medal Honorees
Matt Carey, Men's Cross Country
Wyatt Doop, Men's Cross Country

Nick Elder, Football
James Farrimond, Football
Stephen Noh, Football
Brian Nordstrom, Football
Trenton VandeWater, Football

Erik Mayer, Men's Golf

Julia Barrow, Women's Soccer
Gaby Garton, Women's Soccer
Lauren LaGro, Women's Soccer
Andie Obermeyer, Women's Soccer
Victoria Rellas, Women's Soccer

Louise Gliga, Women's Swimming
Carter Graves, Women's Swimming
Danielle Spence, Women's Swimming

Michael Nuesslein, Men's Tennis
Justin To, Men's Tennis
Andy Wang, Men's Tennis

Leah Fried, Women's Tennis
Ana Guzman, Women's Tennis

Dylan Bradley, Men's Track & Field
Chris Chuckran, Men's Track & Field
Dan Sloat, Men's Track & Field
Reed Thornburg, Men's Track & Field
Zach Watterson, Men's Track & Field

Kathleen Abadie, Women's Track & Field
Meredith Gamble, Women's Track & Field
Farrah Madanay, Women's Track & Field
Johanna Ohm, Women's Track & Field
Sophie Peeters, Women's Track & Field
Allison Pye, Women's Track & Field
Ellen Trinklein, Women's Track & Field
Becky Wade, Women's Track & Field
Erin Watson, Women's Track & Field

Tyler Jenkins, Volleyball
Laurie McNamara, Volleyball
Jordan Meredith, Volleyball



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago