Athletics News

Rice Athletics Celebrates and Honors its Scholar Athletes

Feb. 15, 2009

Rice University scholar athletes, those achieving a grade point average of 3.0 or higher were feted at the annual Scholar Athlete Banquet Sunday evening on the Rice campus. Over 115 athletes, student-managers, and student-trainers were recognized and honored at the event. Furthermore, Erin Scott (soccer/psychology), Jessie Boulavksy (volleyball/psychology), John Berens (men's track and field/biochemistry and cell biology/psychology), and Brett Olson (men's cross country; civil engineering) were presented the Dr. Hubert E. Bray Award as the top female and male scholar athletes at Rice. This is the third time that Brett Olson has received the Bray Award. To receive any of the awards, the recipients must be a third, fourth or fifth-year student-athlete.

The top scholar athlete for each sport are as follows: Tara Watts (women's basketball), Britany Williams (women's cross country), Erin Scott (soccer), Diane Gu (swimming), Angela Wo (swimming), Emily Braid (women's tennis), Sarah Lyons (women's track and field), Lennie Waite (women's track and field), Jessie Boulavsky (volleyball), Jimmy Comerota (baseball), Aleks Perka (men's basketball), Brett Olson (men's cross country), David Berken (football, James Miller (football), Bencil Smith (football), Michael Buttacavoli (golf), Christoph Müller (men's tennis), Dennis Polyakov (men's tennis), Philip Adam (men's track and field, John Berens (men's track and field), Daniel Watson (student-manager), and Grace Wichmann (student-trainer).



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago